Bagel and Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Hubby is a cheese addict. I thought I would surprise him with a treat....and boy did he think this was a treat. I used sharp cheddar instead of processed (his favorite cheese). Will definately be making this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Instead of using processed cheese, I used 1 cup shredded sharp chedder cheese. Very good, with almost any bagel or sour dough bread cut into cubes and "toasted" in the oven. The chedder cheese made it easier to "blend" in and the thought of not melting processed cheese turns me off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I had this at a party and thought it was great! It was the first thing gone. I was happy to find out how easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I made this for a potluck lunch and it went FAST! It was easy to make and tasted good. I served it with bagel chips and I added extra green onions. Everyone at my table commmented me on it. Thanks for a good, easy recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This is great!! I use regular cream cheese and add garlic powder to it. I usually have to double or triple this recipe because it goes so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I make a variation of this for work food days...8oz cream cheese, 1 jar Kraft Old English cheese (usually near the velveeta in the stores) and 1 tsp garlic powder, or to taste. It is always one of the first things to disappear, and people ask for the recipe everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
i thought it tasted cheap, kinda like cheeze weez.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I took this dip so a Christmas Party and it was a huge hit! I ran out and had to make more. I followed the suggestion of using the shredded sharp cheddar instead of the processed stuff. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Alright, so I gave this a two, BUT it can easily be made into a five star recipe. The problem is the dip is lacking seasoning. I agree with the reviewer who said it has a very cheez whiz flavor to it. It's a good base, but you need to add more into it than just these two ingredients, otherwise the processed cheese flavor takes over. I used a hand mixer to blend the ingredients, and then I added a lot of onion powder and garlic powder (do it to taste.) I then added a large handful of the Mexican blend cheese. Would have preferred a sharp cheddar, but didn't have any on hand. Another reviewer mentioned the dip being too stiff...if that happens (which was not the case with mine) just add a little bit of milk to it. Not a big deal. With these adjustments, I give it a five star rating. I served my dip on beer bread, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Totally impressive. This was so good on crackers, bread sticks, and even with veggies. But it was outstanding as a bread dip. I used Kraft Old English sharp cheese spread in the little glass jar and plain cream cheese and then tossed in a palmful of freeze dried chives. About 2 T worth. Thanks what a fabulous dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States