Bagel and Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Alright, so I gave this a two, BUT it can easily be made into a five star recipe. The problem is the dip is lacking seasoning. I agree with the reviewer who said it has a very cheez whiz flavor to it. It's a good base, but you need to add more into it than just these two ingredients, otherwise the processed cheese flavor takes over. I used a hand mixer to blend the ingredients, and then I added a lot of onion powder and garlic powder (do it to taste.) I then added a large handful of the Mexican blend cheese. Would have preferred a sharp cheddar, but didn't have any on hand. Another reviewer mentioned the dip being too stiff...if that happens (which was not the case with mine) just add a little bit of milk to it. Not a big deal. With these adjustments, I give it a five star rating. I served my dip on beer bread, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Kid approved! Used the reduced fat cream cheese and added chives. I only used half of the processed cheese as was called or in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I make a variation of this for work food days...8oz cream cheese, 1 jar Kraft Old English cheese (usually near the velveeta in the stores) and 1 tsp garlic powder, or to taste. It is always one of the first things to disappear, and people ask for the recipe everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Totally impressive. This was so good on crackers, bread sticks, and even with veggies. But it was outstanding as a bread dip. I used Kraft Old English sharp cheese spread in the little glass jar and plain cream cheese and then tossed in a palmful of freeze dried chives. About 2 T worth. Thanks what a fabulous dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Used whipped cream cheese, added garlic powder, and dried chives. Not bad. But very easy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
i thought it tasted cheap, kinda like cheeze weez.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
It's fast and easy, not to mention tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I took this dip so a Christmas Party and it was a huge hit! I ran out and had to make more. I followed the suggestion of using the shredded sharp cheddar instead of the processed stuff. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was very tasteful, I loved it. I had it for a snack after school when i got him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I was disappointed with this dip. I was looking for a cheese dip to use with soft pretzels, but this stayed thick like cream cheese consistency. I was expecting a creamier dip. I melted sharp cheddar with the cream cheese, but it was too stiff for dipping the pretzels. The flavor was ok- maybe it'll be better with onion bagels or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States