Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I made this for my family this Thanksgiving weekend and I think I'd give it 5 stars with a few changes, but 4 as is. Definitely increase the bacon to 1 pound or more, I used 1 pound and it didn't seem like quite enough bacon flavor. Also, next time I'd double the onions and saute green/red peppers as well. It needs more flavor. Following others, I increased to 14 eggs and I used 2-1/4 cup milk. I cubed the bagels, it was too difficult to slice thin and used "The Works" (everything) bagels. I also doubled the cheese, but I think it would have been good to put one cup between layers and a 1/2 to 1 cup on top. The parsley didn't do much for the dish, but some added spices would be great. Needed a little more pepper and I'd add a small amount of salt if your diet allows or let everybody do their own at the table. All in all, this was easy and very good, it just needed some modifications and more seasoning. I think we'll try it with diced ham next time. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was awesome!! I tore the bagel's into bite size pieces so that it would be easier to cut. I then sprayed some butter spray on the bagel-bites and I then lightly toasted them in the oven under the broiler. I thought it seemed like them may end of soggy. I also doubled up on the bacon after making it with the called for amount and it looked like not enough. I put a little extra cheddar after the final layer and it looked beautiful. This recipe had everyone calling for the recipe!! I can't wait to make it again and add some tomatoes, bell peppers and whatever other vege's are in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: New River, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This is good tasting, but took a little longer to prepare the night before than I had thought. Also fitting the dish in the fridge overnight can be a problem for some. One problem I noted was the toughness of the top layer of bagel slices. It's a nice idea, but they came out very hard and tough, requiring a knife to eat. You need to either leave off the top bagel layer or make a larger amount of the egg filling so the top bagels are completely covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I have made this several times and it always turns out great, the bagels are never mushy. I use 14 eggs, 2 1/4 cups of milk, and 1 whole lb of bacon. I add 1 cup shredded cheese, salt, pepper, 1 tsp mustard powder, and 1 tsp onion powder(because I don't feel like chopping and cooking an onion) to the egg mix. Then I tear the bagels up into pieces and let them sit in the egg mix for about 1/2 hour while I'm cooking the bacon with the "Bacon for a family or crowd" recipe. I use scissors to cut the bacon into pieces and mix it into the egg mix. I spray a 9x13 with cooking oil spray and pour the whole bowl in. I top it with some parm cheese and another cup of shredded cheddar. I top it with aluminum foil and cook for 30 minutes, then I take the foil off and cook it another 20 minutes. It turns out puffy and beautiful. This is my favorite breakfast casserole, and I've tried MANY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I made this recipe for a brunch with my Moms group and it was a big hit (even the kids liked it!) The only things I did differently were I ended up using a smaller pan (which meant thicker layers, so I had to cook it a little longer 45min.), and I covered the casserole during the first 15/20 minutes. Then I uncovered it for the remaining baking time. The top layer didn't get burned or wasn't tough and everything cooked through nicely. Lastly, I used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely be making this dish again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This recipe is wonderful! I made this for my husband's family Christmas morning and it was a big hit. I did make some changes after reading other reviews. I used everything bagels (chopped), used turkey bacon, added 2 extra eggs, added an extra 1/2 cup of milk and omitted the parm cheese (just used extra cheddar). Also baked at 375 for 40 minutes. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
My family enjoyed this recipe. I added 2 extra eggs, left out the onion, and added extra cheese to the top towards the end of baking. I also added the crumbled bacon on top at the end of baking (we like the bacon crisp.) When I cooked bacon inside the casserole, I notice it gets chewy. I cooked it at 350 for 45 minutes...it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I served this when we had a houseful of guests... they LOVED it! I did add an extra egg or two, as some have suggested and it worked well. I will say though, that any leftovers heated up the next day, are not as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made an 8x8 version to feed 4. I sauted the onions seperate because they just burned with the bacon and were all greasy. I used plain bagels and they worked great. This dish was picture perfect and the tops of the bagels were golden at exactly 30 mins. 8x8 version: 6 slices of bacon, diced; 1/4 cup chopped onion; 2 plain bagels (sliced into 8 pieces, 4 placed on bottom and 4 on top); 1/2 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese; 5 eggs, beaten (could use 4 eggs); 1 cup milk; 1-2 teaspoons chopped fresh parsley; pinch of pepper; 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I wasnt able to get any of this before it was consumed! But others had given it rave reviews! I made a few changes. I had used mini bagels- about five, and also cut down the amount of eggs to about 9-10. I used a metal calphalon 9x13 pan. I cut up the bacon into peices before cooking it and added it in pan with onion. I also put some cheese on top of last layer of bagels. Was not too dry or hard on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States