Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I liked this casserole and would personally only give it a 4. However, I'm giving it a 5 because I made it for Easter Brunch this morning and it's the only thing that was completely eaten and I don't have any leftovers. Everyone just loved it. It was super easy to make which is a big plus when cooking for 10 people. I used 14 eggs instead of 12 and used smoked sausage instead of bacon. I also topped it with Colby Jack cheese instead of Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
My family enjoyed this recipe. I added 2 extra eggs, left out the onion, and added extra cheese to the top towards the end of baking. I also added the crumbled bacon on top at the end of baking (we like the bacon crisp.) When I cooked bacon inside the casserole, I notice it gets chewy. I cooked it at 350 for 45 minutes...it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is certainly a very easy and convenient dish, but I think I would rather just have bagels, scrambled egg and bacon. The top layer of bagels was a bit hard, and the bottom was a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I prepared this casserole for a noon brunch. Needless to say, it stayed more 8 hours in the fridge. Even though it was really good, I think it might be a good idea to let the dish sit at room temperature for a couple of hours before baking... I would have prefered the middle of the dish to be more set. Otherwise, it is very fast and easy to prepare, and it's subtle enough to serve when you have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This recipe was great. I even used weight watchers brand bagels, which aren't that yummy, and the casserole was still great. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was a quick and easy recipe to throw together. I used 1/2 bacon and 1/2 turkey bacon, and I liked the flavor combination. As other reviewers suggested, I used the "Everything" bagels. Overall, it was a really good recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I tweaked it as per some suggestions (ie, more bacon, 14 eggs, assagio bagels and cheese)----it was eaten but no one thought it was anything special. I was glad I made it for a family brunch where the feedback was honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
We made this during the holidays for brunch. This was a huge hit. I used cheese topped bagels instead of plain. Also added some mushrooms and green peppers to the bacon mixture. (I would leave the green peppers out next time though.) This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansdowne, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
The first time I made this I took it to work for a potluck; everyone liked it. The second time I made it was for a bridal shower, and I assembled it at home, and then took it to my mom's house to bake. First of all I forgot that it needed to prepared the night before, and then I forgot the recipe at home; I couldn't remember what temp to cook it at, and ended up cooking at 350. I won't do that again! It took way to long to cook; everyone was waiting! I also made it without reading the reviews first. I think next time I will increase the eggs and milk used like others suggested; as my top layer of bagels did get a little hard. All in all an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittemore, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This recipe is wonderful! I made this for my husband's family Christmas morning and it was a big hit. I did make some changes after reading other reviews. I used everything bagels (chopped), used turkey bacon, added 2 extra eggs, added an extra 1/2 cup of milk and omitted the parm cheese (just used extra cheddar). Also baked at 375 for 40 minutes. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States