Bagel Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This a great recipe and one I have had for years! This can also be made without the msg and tastes the same. It can also be made with low/no fat sour cream and mayonnaise and is still very good! I have found over the years that using Hellmans Mayo give this dip a better flavor than Kraft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This is almost the same recipe I use for what we call "Rye Boat". Equal parts of sour cream and mayo, no MSG though (I don't even know why you'd add that!), garlic powder, white pepper, some Beaumonde if you have it, and the rest is the same. Better if you make it a day ahead. Serve in a hollowed out loaf of round rye with the torn bread pieces for dipping. (We always need some extra bread or crackers.) The best part to eat is the "boat" when it's empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
VERY GOOD and we didn't even refrigerate for the hour! I scaled the recipe back to 10 servings. Since the scale was unable to break down some items I basically eye balled the ingredients. I didn't use the MSG or the dillweed (didn't have it). I used crushed dried italian seasonings in its place. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
A good base recipe, but I tweeked it a bit. No need for the MSG. I added 3pkgs dried beef, 1 cup of miracle whip and added 2 tbsp Mrs. Dash for the seasonings.. Alowed to chill overnight and I used Thomas' plain & "everything" bagels...YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is so good. I have made this a hundred times now. I have since started using a package of powdered ranch dressing mix for the seasonings, it turns out great. I serve this with onion bagels or a multigrain bagel. Everyone eats it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyle, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
Quick and yummy. This one is full of flavor but not for the calorie and fat counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This is such good dip! My husband loves it and makes it often, too. Every time we take it anywhere, people rave. We don't add MSG because that's ridiculous. It tastes great without it and the dried beef adds plenty of salt. And you can cut down on the dill a little and we use chopped dried onion. With two packages of bagels, there's still a little dip left so maybe 2 1/2 packages would be better. We usually do plain and wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This recipe is delicious! I have made it numerous times, always following the recipe, and everyone asks me for the recipe. I personally think it's a must to add the MSG, as it enhances all the flavors! Very tasty!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
The recipe I've been looking for! I had sampled this at a get together this summer and wanted the recipe ever since. The only things I did different is I omitted the msg and used dehydrated onions. I also had smoked beef freshly shaved at my local deli as it's MUCH better than prepackaged meat. This dip is excellent and a must try! I don't even like bagels, yet I love them with this dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This is a very good recipe. My daughter had this recipe and we have made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States