Bagel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I put it on top when it is rising--all dried, garlic, onion, cilantro, sesame seeds and salt!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This has become my "everyday" bread recipe. It stands up to hot dogs, kielbasa and makes a great sandwich, is still soft, but not chewy like a bagel. I can even cut it warm without it smashing down. For a white bread recipe, this is the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Hubs LOVES this bread. I've made him 3 batches already since last weekend . . .he devoured the first loaf almost within a day, so I made another batch but doubled it this time, adding 1/2 c of flour because the first batch was pretty sticky. He complained bitterly, however, that I had changed it and it wasn't as soft . . .blah, blah, blah. It tasted the same to me, and with an extra 1/2 c flour of the doubled recipe, it was a perfect bread dough consistency! At any rate, I was skeptical this bread would taste bagel-y without the boiling step you use for bagels, but it surprised me. It is really chewy and while the crust isn't exactly bagel, it still does remind me of bagel-y goodness. I usually bake in the oven--I baked at 375 for 45 minutes and it turned out well. Clearly this is a recipe that is a keeper in our house. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I was going to use the recipe as is, but had really wanted more of a whole wheat bread. I used 1 C white flour, 1 C whole wheat flour, and 1/4 C flaxseed meal having no idea how it would impact the results. Otherise I used the recipe as is, though I baked it in the oven as some others did. It came out with good taste and texture. I am excited to have a good whole wheat bread recipe I can use to make the dough in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Nice bread. Not much in common with a bagel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Great taste. Light texture on the inside, nice and crusty on the outside. It really tastes wonderful, and it is my white bread of choice from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Exactly what the other reviewers have said this is- a wonderful bread with a crispy, chewy crust. Wonderful with soup! I added 1 Tbsp dried, minced onion and 1 tsp garlic powder and it turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
No stars. I only gave one because I had to. I will NEVER do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I don't know about the "bagel" part, but this bread was surprisingly good. Will stop looking for other bread machine recipes . . . at least for now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I made this today and it really reminds me of bagel dough. I will definitely be making this again. 5 stars all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States