Bagel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It IS good bread, however, it tastes nothing like a bagel. I was very disapointed. Had this just been a recipe for white bread, I would have rated higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Though I didn't think it tasted like a bagel, the bread had a nice texture and a chewy crust. It was a bit bland, but was very good with the Orange Honey Butter from this site. I generally only use my bread machine for making dough, but this was a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was truely a disappointment. It didnt taste at all like a bagel, it really didnt taste period. The texture is way too light for a bagel too. I made it three times to make sure I didnt mess up somewhere but it came out plain and fluffy every time. Not even a good plain white bread, sorry, I dont like to give bad reviews but this one was not good at all....will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Yummy bread. I mixed in the bread machine and baked in the oven. I baked at 375*F for about 35 minutes using a 8"x4" loaf pan. The taste was not exactly like a bagel, but close enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
replace regular salt with onion salt and add 1 Tbsp re concentrated minced onions on second knead with 1/2 to 1 tsp dried basil flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This bread is awesome. It turns out nice and crusty, enough to use it as a bread bowl for dips. I do add 1/3 cup sugar however to the recipe, makes it a tad bit sweeter. Try it like that, you're sure to have a winner in your home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this bread for my Mom when she was in rehab for a broken hip. I have a passion for cooking and she was my food critic. GREAT BREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Not too 'bagel-y' but it was good loaf of white bread. Actually, bagels aren't too hard to make. I like the 'Bread Machine Bagels' recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This bread has become a family favorite! One thing I have changed though...I substitute half/half for the milk and it comes out even MORE delicious! Valerie Wilmington, DE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This bread smelled wonderful when it was baking, actually much better than most of the breads I bake. However, I was upset by its taste and by the fact it was too airy to me; THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH A BAGEL. I won't bake it again, but if you're looking for a light and airy bread with some kind of a "plain" flavor, this one will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States