Bagel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I could eat the whole loaf myself ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeismyHope
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I just made this bread without a bread machine. Here is how I did it. 1/3 warm water (around 100 F) add sugar and yeast. Stir and let it sit for a few minutes until it starts to foam. Add the milk and an egg, whisk together. In a large bowl mix the salt and 1 cup of the flour. Mix in the liquid to the flour. Slowly add the rest of the flour until you can work with the dough with your hands. Kneed the bread with your hands for 8-10 minutes adding flour as needed. The dough should be smooth. Place the dough back in the bowl and cover it with a towel so the dough can rest. Many times my kitchen is cool so I run the microwave for 15 sec (with nothing in it) and then I put the bowl in there so the dough can rise in a warm place. Let the dough rise until it has doubled in size which is about 2 hours. Spray a bread pan with cooking spray. Form the dough into a smooth log and place in the pan. Cover again with a towel so it will rise a second time, about 45-60 minutes. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes. A good way to tell if bread is ready to come out is to knock on the bread and if it sounds hollow it is ready! I was looking for a nice chewy bread and this is great. I was getting tired of crumbly bread that would get everywhere when I sliced it. I plan on serving this to my husband for breakfast. I can’t wait! So much so that there is already a piece missing, well I had to tell you all how it turned out, duh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
As many others have reviewed, this is a tasty white bread and lacks bagel quality. The expectation of the bagel bread is the only reason why I gave this a 4 star rating, but for texture and flavor of a white bread it is 5 star, no contest. I have a Cuisinart Bread machine put it on a 1.5 lb white bread setting with medium crust. I added 2 tsp of yeast instead of 1.5, but followed the recipe as instructed. It came out fabulously and will definately be remade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I really wanted to like this recipe and use it as a good ol' stand by in my kitchen but alas it was not meant to be. Sure it barely tastes like a bagel but it's really more of an eggy type of white bread. And even as a white bread it was average. The middle fell on my loaf that was made in my Zojirushi "Home Bakery" bread machine. You could try adding 2 eggs & maybe 1/4 to 1/3 more flour but in my book it wasn't worth experimenting with. As for my machine I increased the servings to 15 and it made a pretty normal size loaf. Anyway try some of the other reviewers tips and maybe you will have better luck, but as for me I'm moving on to new recipe adventures! (ps. if you post a review, tell us what bread machine you used, it would help others narrow down what works in which machine, thanks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunkSkunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marble, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very soft bread that I use as a base with all sorts of add ins. Cheddar & Garlic is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliKat

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very light with a crispy crust, not sure why it is called Bagel Bread but I will likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I added 1 tblsp. granulated Splenda to get the sweetness I wanted; used dough cycle with bread machine; shaped into loaf & placed in loaf pan sprayed with veg. oil; covered with towel and let rise till doubled; baked at 350 deg. for 30 min. LEAVE THE BREAD IN PAN; cover with moist towel for 10 minutes; remove from pan and again leave covered with moist towel; cool completely before storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
very yummy but next time I will add some cinnamon. But still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
yum and no oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Good bread. I took it to a pot luck and it was GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States