Bada Bing Bada Banged Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are good just for something a little different. 1/2 the recipe, which worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My husband and I really liked these for a change of pace. I followed the recipe with the exception of drizzling the olive oil, herb, cheese mixture over the potatoes instead of coating the potatoes in the mixture. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were a nice change of pace and remind of The Pioneer Woman's Crash Hot Potatoes. While I enjoyed the combination of herbs, I enjoy roasted potatoes just as much, w/out the extra step. I apparently over boiled my potatoes and they mashed a bit as I was tossing them in the butter/EVOO/herbs (and I greatly decreased by butter and EVOO to reduce calories a bit). While I will use this herb blend again, I probably will not use this preparation method again. THANKS, CJ McD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Pretty good, a bit much on the seasoning for my taste. If I make again, I'll probably leave out the oregano and rosemary at least. I used yellow potatoes, quartered, gently smashed them before tossing with the butter/olive oil/spice mixture, and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were OK but for me were too much work. It's just as easy to twice bake or mash them with the added seasonings and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
very good! Followed to a tee. Second time, I was grilling outside and decided to finish them on the grill rather than in the oven. I still kept them on the baking sheet with indirect heat. They were great too -- no difference, other than it helped me keep an eye on them too. Highly suggest trying this recipe for "something different" potato side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These potatoes are fantastic. I used the bottom of the pot I boiled these in to smash them. Worked well! I was worried that tossing these around in the oil mixture would make these fall apart so I arranged these on the baking sheet then carefully topped each one with some of the mixture. This worked great! We loved these! Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
My boyfriend refers to these as "The tasty smashed potatoes" and is always very pleased to see them on the dinner table. I've made them with parm and cheddar cheeses (depending on what I've got) and both were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These were excellent loved them and the family did too!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I was so excited to try this after reading all of the rave reviews, but none of us really enjoyed it that much. I did have to leave out the parmesan due to two family members with milk allergies, and I am sure that would have made it taste better, so I'm giving it 4 stars out of benefit of the doubt. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written and it was okay, but nowhere near the hit that oven baked fries or other similar dishes are with my family. I'm glad I tried this, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States