Bada Bing Bada Banged Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this recipe twice (once exactly as written & again last night using different potatoes). Both times I think this is a good recipe that's worth 4 out of 5 stars, meaning tasty in a basic I-have-all-the-ingredients-on-hand-&-it's-easy-enough-to-make kind of way. Yet it's not really spectacular enough to merit 5 stars for us (for us it's the kind of recipe where we'll devour the leftovers until we feel sick because it tastes so darn good we just gotta have more). Last night instead of using all new potatoes I used a medley of new potatoes along with mini red & purple potatoes because that's what I had on hand. I don't really think we can tell the difference by taste but visually the purple potatoes looked kinda strange & yucky in there so I'll stick to yellow/red only from now on. (I do like the look of the purple potatoes in potato salads, but not here.) I'll hang on to this recipe because I do like the seasonings & the amounts are spot on so I'll use it as an alternative to plain salted potatoes, tasty yet it didn't impress us enough to warrant more than 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
My guys love these potatoes. I always make sure to use freshly grated parmesan cheese. I steam the potatoes in the microwave for about 8 minutes to speed up the process, and then cook them at 425 for the 30 minutes. At our house, every minute counts. Regardless, great recipe. We use it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Okay, nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Scaled it to 10 servings, and actually prepared the evening before and put them in the fridge until the next day. I then baked them at 400 for about an hour and they were excellent! Got rave reviews from our out of state visitors! Will definitely make again! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These were pretty good and I was surprised to find that I had quite a few leftovers. In my family, that means it was not that well received
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I cut the recipe in half; and I followed the recipe for seasonings. I didn't smash the potatoes. When I the potatoes were done I put them in the bowl I mixed the seasonings in and mixed all together and then spread them out on the baking sheet and baked until crispy! The smell was fabulous and the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
TOO, TOO GOOD!! Our adult children are all "foodies" and I used this recipe for a family celebration this evening (our youngest daughter was just promoted to weekend TV new anchor). They were the guinea pigs and they took the bait, big-time. All fresh herbs and fresh garlic were used (proportionally) rather than dried because the family prefers it. Otherwise, the recipe was faithfully followed. Simply delicious! Wow, I've gotta rest now ... I ate waaaay too many of these wonderful potatoes. Bada-Boom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I used larger reds and boiled them a little longer. I used grated cheese in the sauce and topped the baked potatoes with shredded cheese. Instead of the individual herbs I used about 1 1/2 tablespoon of Italian seasoning. My husband loved these and hes not really into herbs. These are great and I will be adding this to my binder of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was amazingly good! I will be making this again and again! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made these for Easter dinner and what a perfect accompaniment to the ham! Even those strange people who aren't big potato fans loved this. Next time I will eliminate the red pepper (just my personal preference), but will certainly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Mowery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States