Bada Bing Bada Banged Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter. These were a huge hit with my kids. This is a wonderful way to do new potatoes. A hint: Be gentle when smashing the potatoes. I was overzealous and my potatoes fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made these potatoes last night for company. Everyone really liked them. I thought the seasoning might be too much, but it works really well with the Parmesan cheese. Everything crisps up nicely in the oven. I did omit the rosemary for personal preference. My potatoes did seem to fall apart somewhat no matter how carefully I smashed them. I think next time I will quarter them and see how that works. Good, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
My family loved these! Great aroma when baking and great flavor. I stuck to the recipe and had great results. I do agree with other reviewers to keep a light touch when flattening, my young daughter helped and my potatoes were really smooshed. I ended up pouring on the coating over the pieces that could not be tossed and even then still had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
A potential problem with this recipe is it's designed for 20 servings. I only wanted it for a simple weeknight meal to serve my family of four. I tried scaling it to 4 servings but that produced wonky measurements. 5 worked, though. I found that once I had smashed the potatoes, they fell apart, so tossing them in the cheese and spice mixture at that point was not going to work. I just spread the mixture on the potatoes while they were on the baking sheet which was fiddly - it was hard to get it to do anything other than stay in little clumps. It would make more sense to me to just smash them, as indicated, on the baking sheet, drizzle the olive oil over (skipping the butter altogether), then sprinkle the cheese and spice mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
We LOVED the flavor and crispness of these potatoes!!! Definitely a recipe that will be repeated and soon! Although we loved the taste of these, I did significantly change the process. For starters, when I mashed my potatoes they just fell apart into clumps, so I realized immediately that there would be no "tossing" of these or they would have completely fallen apart. I also didn't like the idea of combining the oil, butter, parmesan and spices. Instead I combined the oil and butter, and I separately combined the parmesan and spices. I drizzled half the oil mixture over the potatoes and then sprinkled with half the parmesan mixture. I carefully turned the potatoes over and repeated the drizzling and sprinkling. I assembled this ahead, covered and refrigerated until I popped it in the oven. After baking for 30 minutes I sprinkled the remaining parmesan cheese on top and broiled for about a minute, then added the parsley. The potatoes were creamy on the inside and wonderfully crispy on the outside! YUM! Since my "mashing" skills are apparently not up to par, I will skip that entirely and just cut my potatoes into chunks. Mashed or chunked give these a try!!! UPDATE: I made these again cutting my potatoes into chunks which was much easier for me. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This has got to be one of my top 3 recipes from this site. I LOVED these potatoes! I did not smash mine and used ground red pepper (cayanne) versus crushed due to preference in taste. They turned out FANTASTIC! I had scaled down the recipe because only 2 of us were going to eat these and I found myself wishing I would have just made the entire batch. OMG sooo Good! This would also be great as seasoned hashbrowns for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I've been making these potatoes for a couple of years now and are loved by everyone. They're flavorful, crispy and totally awesome! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I've rated lots of recipes on this site, (which I am addicted to by the way!), but I have never wanted more to have the option of rating higher than a 5. How about a 10, a 20, or perhaps a 60. I had no idea that potatoes could be this good. I did follow some of the reviewers advice and tossed the potatoes with the butter and oil and then sprinkled the cheese and spices on and tossed the potatoes on the cooking tray. Worked great. I did also turn the potatoes half way through the cook time. Oh my, so good. The crunchy bits left on the cooking pan were particularyl good. Will make this often. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
These were so delicious and crispy, the smell when baking them in the oven really does make your mouth water. Before boiling, I cut the potatoes into cubes, lightly gave them a smash, coated them in the butter/oil and then added all the herbs. I only garnished with the parsley and left out the extra parm because I thought they were cheesy and awesome just how they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Absolutely Out-of-this-World Delicious! We had 10 for dinner this evening and every single person commented on how good these potatoes were! Followed the recipe with no alterations. These are so easy and extremely flavorful. Excellent. We will enjoy these again very soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States