Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
easy to make and tasted great, everyone complimented me on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Great side dish! We've made it several times now and it's turned out wonderfully every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was delicious. I've tried the original recipe and made a remix. The second time I used a Vidalia Sweet Onion and added hoison sauce. With some jasmine rice. Nummy! Both were DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Lo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is a very simple, quick stir fry. I'm not a big fan of bacon, so I replaced it with sliced Chinese pork sausages instead. I also used alittle bit of hoison sauce for extra flavoring. The little bit of crushed red peppers really do enhance the flavor of the dish. I will definitely tell my parents about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe was very good. I made it for dinner serving 8 people (serving it only over rice). I chopped up 2 packs of the store-bought bacon and fried it in the wok until the bacon was nice and brown, almost crispy. I drained out all fat and left about 1 tblsp. Didn't need to use olive oil, just because I thought it'd be too oily. Also, I used just regular bok choy, instead of the baby, because that was all they had at the grocery store. With those, I just chopped them up and threw them in and it turned out fine. I seasoned to taste with hoisin sauce and extra black pepper, just because I love black pepper with bacon. Next time, I would like to try it with the baby bok choy, just because I know that they will come out more tender than regular bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Thanks for this recipe, Shunpr. It's a keeper for me. I love the taste of vegetables cooked with bacon but was always frightened of doing it myself. This was such an easy method and I followed it precisely. I add a small fresh cut chilli instead of the red pepper flakes as these were all I had on hand. I made the recipe a little lower in fat by using trimmed bacon, only need 2 slices and I used soya sauce instead of salt to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Good stuff, although it would work just as well with regular white cabbage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Yum! I was looking for a new way to make bok choy and this one is a keeper! I made few changes, i used baby bok choy cuz its more tender. We didn't have any bacon, so i just stir fried some ham finely diced slowly to draw out the flavor. We like our food highly spiced so I added some paprika and cayenne pepper to the red pepper flakes AND threw in a tablespoon of black bean sauce and a tsp of pureed chili sauce (found at your neighborhood asian food mart) to the mix. Rave reviews all around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Yummy way to use those adorable baby bok choy! Followed directions as written and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was okay once I added about a tablespoon each of hoisin and black bean sauce. I only had large bok choy which I had to chop so that may have been part of the problem. The leaves became sort of slimy but the stalks were fine. I will try this again using baby bok choy or I will either cook the stalks and then add the leaves just at the very end so they retain some texture. It would have been great were it not for the texture which may have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States