Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
After reading all of the reviews I had my hopes set so high and wonder if I did something wrong since it was just not the bacony wonderfulness we were hoping for, but I followed the directions exactly. Will have to try it one more time though... anything with bacon deserves at least two attempts at greatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had Bok Choy and have never used it before. I enjoyed this dish and my 13 yr old daughter did too. It all got eaten but no one raved about it. If I ever have bok choy again in the house (co-op fruit/veggies!) I will make this again. Bacon makes everything good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
ok - will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
very tasty and easy side dish to make. I loved the taste that the bacon adds to the baby bok choy. Baby bok choy is an easy vegetable to prepare. I cooked the bacon, chopped up, then set it aside. I used the grease leftover from the bacon with a drizzle of olive oil to heat up together. I added the baby bok choy stem, hard parts, to cook first. They take a little longer to cook than the bok choy leaves. About 2 minutes into the cooking process I added the leaves and stirred to combine everything. I added the bacon back to the baby bok choy and seasoned with a pinch of salt and black pepper to taste. I did not add any red pepper flakes since no one really likes it spicy. I was careful not to overcook the bok choy stems while leaving enough of a crunch. I ended up with nice bright green color that bok choy gives and wonderful bacon-y flavor with a crunchy texture! This was such a delicous side dish and it complemented the, "Chicken Fried Rice II," also from this website. This dish is easy to prepare and doesn't take but a few minutes to put together. A definite keeper to use again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used turkey bacon, garlic powder and salt, onion powder and salt, and left out the onion because that is what I had on hand. I used regular bok choy and also added some chopped green sweet pepper and some paprika a for a bit of kick. I sauteed the sweet pepper and the bacon for about 5 mins, and then added the bok choy stalks. I covered the pan for 3-4 mins to soften the stalks and then I uncovered the pan and added the bok choy leaves. I stirred the mixture for about 8-10 mins to allow the leaves to cook down to my desired doneness and for some of the liquid to evaporate a bit. Turned out very tasty. Going to serve it over rice and baked pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Awesome! I used regular Bok Choy and didn't measure anything but it was SO good. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! We got bok choi in our CSA (community supported agriculture) box today and I'd never had it before. We used one medium-sized head and cooked one cup of rice to serve with it and it worked out just about perfectly to 4 servings. I substituted yellow onion because it was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Yum, yum!!! I did alter the recipe and I enjoy it even more (see below)! Traditionally, I prepare bok choy with Asian flavors, and it is excellent with fish or another oriental dish. This recipe is a nice change. I just made it with a steak and potato dinner and it was a very complimentary veggie. I did change the recipe a bit. Instead of cooking the bacon before hand, I started with the olive oil and added 6 spoonfuls of real bacon bits that i got at Costco (call me lazy, I know). I added in the onion right away. Instead of 1/2 of a small red onion. I put in a whole medium sized red onion. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. Beware: It is spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was delish. I used a ham flavoring substitute since we are a meat free household and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States