Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
After reading all of the reviews I had my hopes set so high and wonder if I did something wrong since it was just not the bacony wonderfulness we were hoping for, but I followed the directions exactly. Will have to try it one more time though... anything with bacon deserves at least two attempts at greatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had Bok Choy and have never used it before. I enjoyed this dish and my 13 yr old daughter did too. It all got eaten but no one raved about it. If I ever have bok choy again in the house (co-op fruit/veggies!) I will make this again. Bacon makes everything good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
ok - will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
very tasty and easy side dish to make. I loved the taste that the bacon adds to the baby bok choy. Baby bok choy is an easy vegetable to prepare. I cooked the bacon, chopped up, then set it aside. I used the grease leftover from the bacon with a drizzle of olive oil to heat up together. I added the baby bok choy stem, hard parts, to cook first. They take a little longer to cook than the bok choy leaves. About 2 minutes into the cooking process I added the leaves and stirred to combine everything. I added the bacon back to the baby bok choy and seasoned with a pinch of salt and black pepper to taste. I did not add any red pepper flakes since no one really likes it spicy. I was careful not to overcook the bok choy stems while leaving enough of a crunch. I ended up with nice bright green color that bok choy gives and wonderful bacon-y flavor with a crunchy texture! This was such a delicous side dish and it complemented the, "Chicken Fried Rice II," also from this website. This dish is easy to prepare and doesn't take but a few minutes to put together. A definite keeper to use again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used turkey bacon, garlic powder and salt, onion powder and salt, and left out the onion because that is what I had on hand. I used regular bok choy and also added some chopped green sweet pepper and some paprika a for a bit of kick. I sauteed the sweet pepper and the bacon for about 5 mins, and then added the bok choy stalks. I covered the pan for 3-4 mins to soften the stalks and then I uncovered the pan and added the bok choy leaves. I stirred the mixture for about 8-10 mins to allow the leaves to cook down to my desired doneness and for some of the liquid to evaporate a bit. Turned out very tasty. Going to serve it over rice and baked pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Awesome! I used regular Bok Choy and didn't measure anything but it was SO good. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! We got bok choi in our CSA (community supported agriculture) box today and I'd never had it before. We used one medium-sized head and cooked one cup of rice to serve with it and it worked out just about perfectly to 4 servings. I substituted yellow onion because it was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Yum, yum!!! I did alter the recipe and I enjoy it even more (see below)! Traditionally, I prepare bok choy with Asian flavors, and it is excellent with fish or another oriental dish. This recipe is a nice change. I just made it with a steak and potato dinner and it was a very complimentary veggie. I did change the recipe a bit. Instead of cooking the bacon before hand, I started with the olive oil and added 6 spoonfuls of real bacon bits that i got at Costco (call me lazy, I know). I added in the onion right away. Instead of 1/2 of a small red onion. I put in a whole medium sized red onion. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. Beware: It is spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was delish. I used a ham flavoring substitute since we are a meat free household and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States