Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is a very simple, quick stir fry. I'm not a big fan of bacon, so I replaced it with sliced Chinese pork sausages instead. I also used alittle bit of hoison sauce for extra flavoring. The little bit of crushed red peppers really do enhance the flavor of the dish. I will definitely tell my parents about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was delicious. I've tried the original recipe and made a remix. The second time I used a Vidalia Sweet Onion and added hoison sauce. With some jasmine rice. Nummy! Both were DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Lo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Thanks for this recipe, Shunpr. It's a keeper for me. I love the taste of vegetables cooked with bacon but was always frightened of doing it myself. This was such an easy method and I followed it precisely. I add a small fresh cut chilli instead of the red pepper flakes as these were all I had on hand. I made the recipe a little lower in fat by using trimmed bacon, only need 2 slices and I used soya sauce instead of salt to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This is excellent! I made it exactly according to recipe, except that I used regular instead of baby bok choy, and it took a little longer to cook. I waited until the white parts were almost soft, which took about 25 minutes, but the green parts weren't slimy at all, as mentioned in a previous review. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Yum! I was looking for a new way to make bok choy and this one is a keeper! I made few changes, i used baby bok choy cuz its more tender. We didn't have any bacon, so i just stir fried some ham finely diced slowly to draw out the flavor. We like our food highly spiced so I added some paprika and cayenne pepper to the red pepper flakes AND threw in a tablespoon of black bean sauce and a tsp of pureed chili sauce (found at your neighborhood asian food mart) to the mix. Rave reviews all around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
delicious and simple- what could be better? i make this every time there's bacon in the house, its a great way to get my bf to eat some vegetables! just as good with half the oil, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
The bacon in the recipe adds a good bit of flavor to the dish. We made some slight changes--omitted the olive oil and used about three tablespoons of the bacon grease from a WHOLE package of bacon (you can never have too much bacon!). Also, instead of red onion, we opted for something a little milder since my hubby gets heartburn easily enough as it is, scallions. We basically created heart attack in a bowl with some leafy greens. Still, it was very good and worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostlittlefairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Great side dish! We've made it several times now and it's turned out wonderfully every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Yummy way to use those adorable baby bok choy! Followed directions as written and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I just made this tonight and it is a winner. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I served it over rice. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States