Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
One of the wonderful things about baby bok choy, aside from its taste, is its size and the beautiful presentation it makes. One perfectly cooked and seasoned baby bok choy on a dinner plate is almost like a bow on a package. I think those who are chopping this, or substituting mature bok choy, or those who are adding other vegetables are totally missing the beauty of whole baby bok choy for its visual appeal. Having said that, the simple seasoning and braising in this recipe makes this not only a beautiful and unique presentation on the dinner plate, but a delicious one at that. I used shallots rather than onion and added a little chicken broth, and found I needed to cook the little guys a couple of minutes less than directed to keep them crisp-tender and to retain their shape and color. Impressive and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This is excellent! I made it exactly according to recipe, except that I used regular instead of baby bok choy, and it took a little longer to cook. I waited until the white parts were almost soft, which took about 25 minutes, but the green parts weren't slimy at all, as mentioned in a previous review. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm happily giving thes recipe a high rating. It was exactly what I was looking for. Something interesting and new, healthy and not very expensive, It sure was easy and quick to prepare and met the approval of everyone at my dinner table. I did add more bacon,(how bad can that be)as I needed to use it up. I probably added a little more garlic too. The direction of 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes is not too much for the average person but could be lessened for those with tender palates. The bok choy is a huge heap in the frying pan. Don't worry though, it will soon soften up and drastically shrink in size. Be cautioned - the bok choy must be rinsed very thoroughly before use. Lots of dirt hiding in the leaves. I guarantee you will kick yourself if you bite into a gritty forkful and don't get to eat this. I would like to start enjoying at least 1 night a week with a meal containing veggies only. This for sure will be on the menu. Thanks so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is really great. Simple flavours and so easy. The bacon adds a wonderful salty flavour and I used mature bok choy instead of baby as that's all I had. With preparing this dish, I did as you would do for stir -fry, by chopping everything up beforehand. I also added 1 green onion, half an ear of corn and 1 stick of celery all chopped up because I'm always looking for ways to eat more veg. Totally delish! I did separate the stalks and the leaves and only added the leaves in the last two minutes. The stalks had about five minutes cooking time. Perfect instructions, too. Don't leave your pan on too high when you put the stalks in - your garlic will burn. Thankyou for a wonderful recipe that has left me with lunch tomorrow! Update: I have made this again, but added some mushrooms. This recipe is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was okay once I added about a tablespoon each of hoisin and black bean sauce. I only had large bok choy which I had to chop so that may have been part of the problem. The leaves became sort of slimy but the stalks were fine. I will try this again using baby bok choy or I will either cook the stalks and then add the leaves just at the very end so they retain some texture. It would have been great were it not for the texture which may have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Yum! I was looking for a new way to make bok choy and this one is a keeper! I made few changes, i used baby bok choy cuz its more tender. We didn't have any bacon, so i just stir fried some ham finely diced slowly to draw out the flavor. We like our food highly spiced so I added some paprika and cayenne pepper to the red pepper flakes AND threw in a tablespoon of black bean sauce and a tsp of pureed chili sauce (found at your neighborhood asian food mart) to the mix. Rave reviews all around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe was very good. I made it for dinner serving 8 people (serving it only over rice). I chopped up 2 packs of the store-bought bacon and fried it in the wok until the bacon was nice and brown, almost crispy. I drained out all fat and left about 1 tblsp. Didn't need to use olive oil, just because I thought it'd be too oily. Also, I used just regular bok choy, instead of the baby, because that was all they had at the grocery store. With those, I just chopped them up and threw them in and it turned out fine. I seasoned to taste with hoisin sauce and extra black pepper, just because I love black pepper with bacon. Next time, I would like to try it with the baby bok choy, just because I know that they will come out more tender than regular bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
very tasty and easy side dish to make. I loved the taste that the bacon adds to the baby bok choy. Baby bok choy is an easy vegetable to prepare. I cooked the bacon, chopped up, then set it aside. I used the grease leftover from the bacon with a drizzle of olive oil to heat up together. I added the baby bok choy stem, hard parts, to cook first. They take a little longer to cook than the bok choy leaves. About 2 minutes into the cooking process I added the leaves and stirred to combine everything. I added the bacon back to the baby bok choy and seasoned with a pinch of salt and black pepper to taste. I did not add any red pepper flakes since no one really likes it spicy. I was careful not to overcook the bok choy stems while leaving enough of a crunch. I ended up with nice bright green color that bok choy gives and wonderful bacon-y flavor with a crunchy texture! This was such a delicous side dish and it complemented the, "Chicken Fried Rice II," also from this website. This dish is easy to prepare and doesn't take but a few minutes to put together. A definite keeper to use again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
delicious and simple- what could be better? i make this every time there's bacon in the house, its a great way to get my bf to eat some vegetables! just as good with half the oil, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Good stuff, although it would work just as well with regular white cabbage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States