Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was awesome! I had never had Bok Choy before, this was the first recipe I had made using it and it was soooooooo good! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm happily giving thes recipe a high rating. It was exactly what I was looking for. Something interesting and new, healthy and not very expensive, It sure was easy and quick to prepare and met the approval of everyone at my dinner table. I did add more bacon,(how bad can that be)as I needed to use it up. I probably added a little more garlic too. The direction of 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes is not too much for the average person but could be lessened for those with tender palates. The bok choy is a huge heap in the frying pan. Don't worry though, it will soon soften up and drastically shrink in size. Be cautioned - the bok choy must be rinsed very thoroughly before use. Lots of dirt hiding in the leaves. I guarantee you will kick yourself if you bite into a gritty forkful and don't get to eat this. I would like to start enjoying at least 1 night a week with a meal containing veggies only. This for sure will be on the menu. Thanks so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is an excellent recipe as written; my husband and I really enjoyed this. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
super easy and very good. I only had reg. bok choy on hand so I cooked the white part for about 5 minutes then added the leaves for about 3 more minutes with about 1 T. of water and it turned out great. I used turkey bacon as well for a "healthier" alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is really great. Simple flavours and so easy. The bacon adds a wonderful salty flavour and I used mature bok choy instead of baby as that's all I had. With preparing this dish, I did as you would do for stir -fry, by chopping everything up beforehand. I also added 1 green onion, half an ear of corn and 1 stick of celery all chopped up because I'm always looking for ways to eat more veg. Totally delish! I did separate the stalks and the leaves and only added the leaves in the last two minutes. The stalks had about five minutes cooking time. Perfect instructions, too. Don't leave your pan on too high when you put the stalks in - your garlic will burn. Thankyou for a wonderful recipe that has left me with lunch tomorrow! Update: I have made this again, but added some mushrooms. This recipe is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fabulous, we used regular bok choy since there was no baby bok choy at the store. I will make this again and agian thank for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Simple, quick, and tasty dish. The crunchy bok choy and crispy bacon coupled with the red pepper flakes made a wonderful combination. Cook the bok choy with the bacon grease and you won't regret it =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Absolutely fabulous. I added crimini mushrooms to the sautee (same stage as the onions), but otherwise followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I had never used baby bok choy until I read this recipe. My boyfriend loved it and it is definitely written down in my own cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Everything is better with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States