Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
It's ok. Nothing special. I didn't think it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious! And so easy and quick to put together. The recipe is pretty spicy as written. For my personal preference, I will probably half the amount of red pepper flakes. Also, there was quite a bit of water at the bottom of the pan that hadn't cooked out by the time the bok choy was done. My first thought was to just transfer the bok choy to the serving dish with a slotted spoon to drain out the excess moisture, but a lot of the flavor would be left behind in that water. Next time, I'll try doing all the cooking uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My whole family loved this- it was our first experience with Bok Choy, and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Really good, Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was awesome! I had never had Bok Choy before, this was the first recipe I had made using it and it was soooooooo good! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm happily giving thes recipe a high rating. It was exactly what I was looking for. Something interesting and new, healthy and not very expensive, It sure was easy and quick to prepare and met the approval of everyone at my dinner table. I did add more bacon,(how bad can that be)as I needed to use it up. I probably added a little more garlic too. The direction of 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes is not too much for the average person but could be lessened for those with tender palates. The bok choy is a huge heap in the frying pan. Don't worry though, it will soon soften up and drastically shrink in size. Be cautioned - the bok choy must be rinsed very thoroughly before use. Lots of dirt hiding in the leaves. I guarantee you will kick yourself if you bite into a gritty forkful and don't get to eat this. I would like to start enjoying at least 1 night a week with a meal containing veggies only. This for sure will be on the menu. Thanks so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is an excellent recipe as written; my husband and I really enjoyed this. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
super easy and very good. I only had reg. bok choy on hand so I cooked the white part for about 5 minutes then added the leaves for about 3 more minutes with about 1 T. of water and it turned out great. I used turkey bacon as well for a "healthier" alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is really great. Simple flavours and so easy. The bacon adds a wonderful salty flavour and I used mature bok choy instead of baby as that's all I had. With preparing this dish, I did as you would do for stir -fry, by chopping everything up beforehand. I also added 1 green onion, half an ear of corn and 1 stick of celery all chopped up because I'm always looking for ways to eat more veg. Totally delish! I did separate the stalks and the leaves and only added the leaves in the last two minutes. The stalks had about five minutes cooking time. Perfect instructions, too. Don't leave your pan on too high when you put the stalks in - your garlic will burn. Thankyou for a wonderful recipe that has left me with lunch tomorrow! Update: I have made this again, but added some mushrooms. This recipe is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Fabulous, we used regular bok choy since there was no baby bok choy at the store. I will make this again and agian thank for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States