Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Found some very fresh and tender baby bok choy at a great price at the oriental market, so this will be the first of several new side dishes that I try over the next few days (there was a lot in the bag!). First, I think some red bell pepper slices really would be a good addition and would really brighten up the presentation. Next time, I also will check the bok choy at 2 minutes, as it cooked very quickly. When I took the lid off at 3 minutes, it already was a little overcooked. This should be the last dish that goes on the table because it cooled down very fast, and as the recipe writer said, "...serve piping hot." I served this with chicken, but this would be a nice side dish to so many different entrees. Definitely will be making this often, nice side dish and EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe, in fact I made it as writen a few times! (It's highly unusual that I don't tweak a recipe!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great sidedish. I added sweet red peppers, and some stir fry sauce. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I really enjoyed this. I used regular bok choy chopped. I used about 7 pieces of bacon. I added two heaping teaspoons of hoison and then served over rice as our main dish. It was healthy and delicious! I could see adding carrots, julienned. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I've made this twice now, with Napa cabbage instead of bona fide bok choy. Very good, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I added chicken to make it a bit more of a meal. Would be delicious without though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Quick, and easy dish and substituted turkey bacon instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauli Lavochin
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was my first recipe using bok choy. My husband and I loved it. He especially loved the bacon part of it. I loved the crisp taste of the bok choy and it was pretty to look at too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was fantastic! I did it a bit differently, chopped up and minced two red chilies, two garlic cloves, and two peels of leeks. After the bacon was finished, I added the teaspoon of oil, added the mixture to the bacon, and then added the bok choy. The entire dish is great with pho, or with simple chunks of chicken in broth. My family loved it, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States