Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Yummy! I too cooked the white parts first and then added the green after a few minutes. Great flavor! This was my first time cooking Bok Choy and we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. I served it over a bed of rice with some soy sauce. The salt of the bacon and the heat of the red pepper flakes tasted so good with the crunch of the bok choy. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
It is my first time cooking bok choy so I was a little worried about how it may turn out. I've made some changes to the recipe and was delicious! I love garlic so I added handful of whole garlic cloves(not minced) and fried it for 1-2 min before adding the bok choy. As previous reviews suggested i devided it into two parts: white stems fried for 3 min than added cooked chicken and green parts of bok choy. Then cooked another 3min. I also substituted pepper for cayenne pepper. Served over rice. Refreshing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rme109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
wonderful! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was fantastic!!! Although I didn't have any red onion, I substituted with a leek, and it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moraga, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
After reading all of the reviews I had my hopes set so high and wonder if I did something wrong since it was just not the bacony wonderfulness we were hoping for, but I followed the directions exactly. Will have to try it one more time though... anything with bacon deserves at least two attempts at greatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had Bok Choy and have never used it before. I enjoyed this dish and my 13 yr old daughter did too. It all got eaten but no one raved about it. If I ever have bok choy again in the house (co-op fruit/veggies!) I will make this again. Bacon makes everything good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
ok - will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
very tasty and easy side dish to make. I loved the taste that the bacon adds to the baby bok choy. Baby bok choy is an easy vegetable to prepare. I cooked the bacon, chopped up, then set it aside. I used the grease leftover from the bacon with a drizzle of olive oil to heat up together. I added the baby bok choy stem, hard parts, to cook first. They take a little longer to cook than the bok choy leaves. About 2 minutes into the cooking process I added the leaves and stirred to combine everything. I added the bacon back to the baby bok choy and seasoned with a pinch of salt and black pepper to taste. I did not add any red pepper flakes since no one really likes it spicy. I was careful not to overcook the bok choy stems while leaving enough of a crunch. I ended up with nice bright green color that bok choy gives and wonderful bacon-y flavor with a crunchy texture! This was such a delicous side dish and it complemented the, "Chicken Fried Rice II," also from this website. This dish is easy to prepare and doesn't take but a few minutes to put together. A definite keeper to use again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States