Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Easy to make and very good. Make sure to cut the red pepper flakes if you have children... it is pretty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I just made this tonight and it is a winner. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I served it over rice. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
delicious and simple- what could be better? i make this every time there's bacon in the house, its a great way to get my bf to eat some vegetables! just as good with half the oil, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This is excellent! I made it exactly according to recipe, except that I used regular instead of baby bok choy, and it took a little longer to cook. I waited until the white parts were almost soft, which took about 25 minutes, but the green parts weren't slimy at all, as mentioned in a previous review. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was okay once I added about a tablespoon each of hoisin and black bean sauce. I only had large bok choy which I had to chop so that may have been part of the problem. The leaves became sort of slimy but the stalks were fine. I will try this again using baby bok choy or I will either cook the stalks and then add the leaves just at the very end so they retain some texture. It would have been great were it not for the texture which may have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Yummy way to use those adorable baby bok choy! Followed directions as written and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Yum! I was looking for a new way to make bok choy and this one is a keeper! I made few changes, i used baby bok choy cuz its more tender. We didn't have any bacon, so i just stir fried some ham finely diced slowly to draw out the flavor. We like our food highly spiced so I added some paprika and cayenne pepper to the red pepper flakes AND threw in a tablespoon of black bean sauce and a tsp of pureed chili sauce (found at your neighborhood asian food mart) to the mix. Rave reviews all around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Good stuff, although it would work just as well with regular white cabbage. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Thanks for this recipe, Shunpr. It's a keeper for me. I love the taste of vegetables cooked with bacon but was always frightened of doing it myself. This was such an easy method and I followed it precisely. I add a small fresh cut chilli instead of the red pepper flakes as these were all I had on hand. I made the recipe a little lower in fat by using trimmed bacon, only need 2 slices and I used soya sauce instead of salt to season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe was very good. I made it for dinner serving 8 people (serving it only over rice). I chopped up 2 packs of the store-bought bacon and fried it in the wok until the bacon was nice and brown, almost crispy. I drained out all fat and left about 1 tblsp. Didn't need to use olive oil, just because I thought it'd be too oily. Also, I used just regular bok choy, instead of the baby, because that was all they had at the grocery store. With those, I just chopped them up and threw them in and it turned out fine. I seasoned to taste with hoisin sauce and extra black pepper, just because I love black pepper with bacon. Next time, I would like to try it with the baby bok choy, just because I know that they will come out more tender than regular bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States