Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
The bacon in the recipe adds a good bit of flavor to the dish. We made some slight changes--omitted the olive oil and used about three tablespoons of the bacon grease from a WHOLE package of bacon (you can never have too much bacon!). Also, instead of red onion, we opted for something a little milder since my hubby gets heartburn easily enough as it is, scallions. We basically created heart attack in a bowl with some leafy greens. Still, it was very good and worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostlittlefairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It was ok, if a little bland. I'm not sure what I'd add, but it definitely needed more kick. A good way to get your greens though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Williams, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I've never cooked with bok choy before, and decided to buy a head from the farmer's market and give it a try. This was easy and pretty good. I did add some additional vegetables to the mix and served it over rice as suggested, just to make it a heartier meal on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I served this with coconut rice and korean chicken (recipes I found here); the Bok Choy w/bacon was great. I added a chopped rib of celery with onion and garlic then when I added the bok choy I added a sliced roma tomatoe. A lovely dish be sure to use the bacon grease to stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I didn't really care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Easy to make and very good. Make sure to cut the red pepper flakes if you have children... it is pretty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I just made this tonight and it is a winner. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I served it over rice. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
delicious and simple- what could be better? i make this every time there's bacon in the house, its a great way to get my bf to eat some vegetables! just as good with half the oil, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This is excellent! I made it exactly according to recipe, except that I used regular instead of baby bok choy, and it took a little longer to cook. I waited until the white parts were almost soft, which took about 25 minutes, but the green parts weren't slimy at all, as mentioned in a previous review. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was okay once I added about a tablespoon each of hoisin and black bean sauce. I only had large bok choy which I had to chop so that may have been part of the problem. The leaves became sort of slimy but the stalks were fine. I will try this again using baby bok choy or I will either cook the stalks and then add the leaves just at the very end so they retain some texture. It would have been great were it not for the texture which may have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States