Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
One of the wonderful things about baby bok choy, aside from its taste, is its size and the beautiful presentation it makes. One perfectly cooked and seasoned baby bok choy on a dinner plate is almost like a bow on a package. I think those who are chopping this, or substituting mature bok choy, or those who are adding other vegetables are totally missing the beauty of whole baby bok choy for its visual appeal. Having said that, the simple seasoning and braising in this recipe makes this not only a beautiful and unique presentation on the dinner plate, but a delicious one at that. I used shallots rather than onion and added a little chicken broth, and found I needed to cook the little guys a couple of minutes less than directed to keep them crisp-tender and to retain their shape and color. Impressive and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Pretty good! I added some garlic but otherwise stuck to the recipe, and my family ate it happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is the best! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My husband and I grew bok choy in our garden this year and this was our first recipe using our fresh crop. It was delicious and cooked up so quickly! Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Wow! I've always enjoyed bok choy but had never prepared it myself until this. It was better then any I've ever had with my easy adjustments: I diced 4-5 thin slices of prosciutto and fried in a little olive oil until crispy and set it aside. Then I added a bit more olive oil to the pan and cooked the onion, pepper flakes and garlic as directed. But then I also added a few splashes of chicken broth to sort of de-glaze the pan and then settled the bok choy on top. The broth helped soften the vegetables and added lots of flavor while it simmered and steamed in the pan. The prosciutto was added back at the end and was a delicious and salty topping that was to die for. A DEFINITE KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
With our efforts toward adding fresh vegetables to our diet, I'm always looking for new recipes. I had a half a head of Chinese cabbage and about 4 ounces of bean sprouts leftover and decided to modify this recipe with those ingredients. The flavor was very good, just the right amount of spice for my taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lanham-Seabrook, Maryland, USA
Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
What a great Bok Choy recipe! I followed the recipe (extra garlic of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was actually pretty tasty - I always wanted to try to cook bok choy but never really knew how. I could not find baby bok choy in any of my local stores so I used the regular one which still came out great. I am going to keep my eyes out for the baby style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. I added more bacon the second time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States