Bacon-y Bok Choy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is very good, I didn't use as much red pepper flakes as called for and next time will cut down to 1/4 tsp. It was too hot and spicy for us but other than that a hit with everyone. I didn't have a red onion so used a little sweet yellow one. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was pretty good. Quick and easy to make, and a different way to eat bok choy (which is what I was looking for). I wish it had a bit more sauce, so I'll probably work on that next time. We ate it over rice, so sauce would have been nice for that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
didn't love the whole bok choy. seemed bitter. It was little but maybe it wasn't "baby"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I used mature bok choy and it turned out fine. Plenty of good flavor with the bacon and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I used this recipe to try bok choy out for the first time. It was really good. I don't think bok choy in general is destined to be one of our favorite veggies, but we both liked the combination of flavors with the bacon and the kick of the red pepper flakes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Nice! Used soy bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
One of the wonderful things about baby bok choy, aside from its taste, is its size and the beautiful presentation it makes. One perfectly cooked and seasoned baby bok choy on a dinner plate is almost like a bow on a package. I think those who are chopping this, or substituting mature bok choy, or those who are adding other vegetables are totally missing the beauty of whole baby bok choy for its visual appeal. Having said that, the simple seasoning and braising in this recipe makes this not only a beautiful and unique presentation on the dinner plate, but a delicious one at that. I used shallots rather than onion and added a little chicken broth, and found I needed to cook the little guys a couple of minutes less than directed to keep them crisp-tender and to retain their shape and color. Impressive and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Pretty good! I added some garlic but otherwise stuck to the recipe, and my family ate it happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is the best! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My husband and I grew bok choy in our garden this year and this was our first recipe using our fresh crop. It was delicious and cooked up so quickly! Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States