Bacon and Tomato Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
After reading reviews, I did this a couple different ways with the biscuits...but first off for the filling. I used what I had on hand. I used 2 roma tomatoes, 1/3 cup bacon bits, cheddar cheese, and only 1/3 cup mayo. For the biscuits, I tried a few cut in half, some in 1/3 and some in 1/4. If you are going to use 1/2 a biscuit, I suggest you use a regular sized muffin pan, NOT a mini pan. If you cut the biscuit in 1/3 or 1/4, than go ahead and use the mini pan. Don't forget, the biscuits will rise! I like the 1/4 size. they are the perfect size for an appetizer/finger food. the 1/3 size is not too much bigger but not as "cute" as an appetizer. The 1/2 biscuit is more like an after school snack size, or alongside dinner. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April Choate
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
We just had these tonight for dinner and WOW!!! Even my pickiest eater gobbled them up! Made it as the author posted it,except not mini muffins, which honestly is the ONLY way you can actually really review it. I don't know what that person did that they were left after a party! Delicious and will be making it again, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Choate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
These were delicious! I was in a rush and wish I had read the other comments. They came out too big using 1/2 the biscuit dough so I would do 1/4 next time. I ended up with so much filling left over too so next time I will be able to get 32 of these out of this! I also used light mayo and turkey bacon and they came out just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Yummy ... Loved it so easy.. I did cut back on the mayo just enough to moisten and used shredded swiss but next time I will use shredded Parmesan and add more tomatoes! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe is fantastic as a base however it tends to be quite plain. I made quite a few modifications and my boyfriend absolutely loved them. I used biscuit dough but sliced the dough in half and then spread out the half into the base of large muffin tins. I used double the onion and tomato and used half a cup of sour cream and half a cup of mayo. I used about a tsp.'s of garlic power, 2 tbsp.'s of parmesan cheese and then about half a cup of grated old cheddar cheese. I mixed it well with the crumbled bacon and I was sure to stuff the cups full as I only had half of a muffin tin. However, this recipe could easily make 12. Also, be sure to watch the cups closely after 7 minutes as mine were in for 10 and were a little dark on the bottom. Next time I will add some diced jalapenos and they will be perfect for our taste! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
9/28/14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
One of the best things I've ever tasted!!! I added garlic because.... Well, I like garlic a lot. And I didn't have dried basil so I added a "herbes provecale" which I have been told is just a heavily salted herb blend from France. I ate too many of these! A quick tip: better to undercook than overlook. The dough becomes very tough if cooked even a minute or two too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Super simple and very popular with my friends. My one recommendation is to do each muffin one at a time rather than fill all the biscuit dough and then all filling. The dough will rise too quickly while waiting for the filling. The possibilities are endless for changing it up based on what you have in the kitchen. I noted the other comments about the mayo. I'm not much for measuring so I would say just use enough to make the ingredients stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These were a hit and I made them in regular muffin pans. Maybe because I got the grand biscuit 16 oz can so the biscuits are large and when sliced horizontally, they more easily fit into the regular muffin pans. I was looking for more of a breakfast experience anyway and it made 16 full size muffins with generous fillings. As a previous reviewer states, I feel like these biscuits are very sweet and might add sharp cheddar next time rather than shredded swiss to counter the sweetness of the biscuits. Could also sub crumbled sausage rather than bacon. I did cheat and use Hormel real bacon bits and this worked great making prep time pretty quick since we were on vacation and wanted easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twkaufma
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've been making these for years and they are out of this world. A few changes to this make them better. Tomato - Seed it Onion - I think Red Onion makes the best onion for all eaters. Biscuits - Use the Honey Flakey ones and cut them into fours instead of halves. I double the order and get 2 and half trays. 42 minutes - expect to spend a little more time than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States