Bacon and Tomato Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
One of the best things I've ever tasted!!! I added garlic because.... Well, I like garlic a lot. And I didn't have dried basil so I added a "herbes provecale" which I have been told is just a heavily salted herb blend from France. I ate too many of these! A quick tip: better to undercook than overlook. The dough becomes very tough if cooked even a minute or two too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Super simple and very popular with my friends. My one recommendation is to do each muffin one at a time rather than fill all the biscuit dough and then all filling. The dough will rise too quickly while waiting for the filling. The possibilities are endless for changing it up based on what you have in the kitchen. I noted the other comments about the mayo. I'm not much for measuring so I would say just use enough to make the ingredients stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These were a hit and I made them in regular muffin pans. Maybe because I got the grand biscuit 16 oz can so the biscuits are large and when sliced horizontally, they more easily fit into the regular muffin pans. I was looking for more of a breakfast experience anyway and it made 16 full size muffins with generous fillings. As a previous reviewer states, I feel like these biscuits are very sweet and might add sharp cheddar next time rather than shredded swiss to counter the sweetness of the biscuits. Could also sub crumbled sausage rather than bacon. I did cheat and use Hormel real bacon bits and this worked great making prep time pretty quick since we were on vacation and wanted easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twkaufma
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've been making these for years and they are out of this world. A few changes to this make them better. Tomato - Seed it Onion - I think Red Onion makes the best onion for all eaters. Biscuits - Use the Honey Flakey ones and cut them into fours instead of halves. I double the order and get 2 and half trays. 42 minutes - expect to spend a little more time than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Love the filling, very tasty. I used green onion, as suggested in other reviews, and only enough mayo to hold it together. I made a mistake and bought puff pastry cups instead of phyllo cups, and they tasted good but were hard to stuff - the holes are small and the pastry tended to flake away. Tip: chop the tomatoes pretty fine if you are using ready made cups. I had filling left over so might make it into a larger tart for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My family and I absolutely love these. They're easy and quick to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chubsachef
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Flavorful, simple, and easy to experiment with. I salted the tomatoes and drained them to reduce sogginess. I added minced garlic to the mixture. Spoon the mayo on then add bacon and tomatoes. Add add scallions for basil. Play with it! This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Simple, yet tasty little appetizers. I used a 7 oz. tube of biscuits and got 20 little appetizers. These were very quick and easy to put together. Definitely best when eaten warm from the oven. No one enjoyed the warmed up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I followed it as written, except I did cut back on the mayo. However, I just didn't like the canned biscuit taste for the crust. Maybe I was expecting something more akin to quiche. Overall, the filling was fine, but the crust wasn't great. I had a lot left over. Maybe if I make this again, I might try pie crust, or filo as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sstockwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These turned out delicious! I used regular sized muffin tins and stretched the dough over the sides and they turned out perfect. I also added green onion on the top as a garnish. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States