Bacon and Tomato Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I followed it as written, except I did cut back on the mayo. However, I just didn't like the canned biscuit taste for the crust. Maybe I was expecting something more akin to quiche. Overall, the filling was fine, but the crust wasn't great. I had a lot left over. Maybe if I make this again, I might try pie crust, or filo as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sstockwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These turned out delicious! I used regular sized muffin tins and stretched the dough over the sides and they turned out perfect. I also added green onion on the top as a garnish. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Loved these! Only change I made was to add a bit more cheese. Big hit at my NYE party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I have made these four times now. I use turkey bacon, fat free mayo, Weight Watchers swiss for lowerfat. These are so good, they even re-heat well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made in the phyllo cups and they were good although they were greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Instead of mayo I used cream cheese and cheddar cheese instead of swiss... absolutely amazing! Everyone loved it, definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I use Grands(original or buttermilk) split horizontally for the cups stretching and putting them in regular size muffin tins. I also replace the bacon with BACOS so it's vegetarian. Instead of regular tomato I get canned (8 oz) diced tomatoes with herbs which is about equal to one tomato once it's drained. I cut in blue cheese with the swiss as well and sprinkle Adobo into the mixture. My family goes nuts over these and insist on them every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Didn't exactly follow this recipe to a "T" I did use bacon, I sauteed sweet onions in butter salt and pepper. I did use shredded swiss and mayo. But Instead of basil I used green onion ! And I didn't have a mini muffin pan just a regular cupcake pan. Anyways I made three batches of these for thankgiving dinner as one of many many appetizers that were brought to dinner. These things disappeared before anything else. I think everyone will be disappointed if I don't make these again for xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I love it! My husband said it was good in a weird way. My 65 year old dad, a traditional, always had a home cooked meal kind of man, loved these. Instead of using mayonnaise, I used cream cheese (with chives) to keep the mixture together and instead of swiss, used cheddar because that is all I had. It gave it more flavor and was just GREAT. I had to cook them longer than 12 minutes- more like 15 minutes since the center of the cup is filled with wet stuff. I even had some leftovers and they tasted great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I used low fat mayo, in half the amount, and turkey bacon...yummy. My guest devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 751) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States