Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
As usual, I read reviews - nearly 6 pgs of them - got tickled that several reviewers didn't really REVIEW; they REVAMPED the soup into something entirely different from Kwollaks original. Suit yourself, but this soup, just as it IS, is wonderful. I made this for a "Gourmet Group" and all agreed that it is terrific. Being part of such a group, I actually used fresh chicken broth, made from boiling a real chicken and no-salt added. Thank you-this soup was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I changed a few things and all the neighbors loved it-5 people asked for the recipe.Instead of bacon I used 3cups chopped ham (leftover from Thanksgiving), I changed to regular chicken broth, 2 cups of cheddar, omitted the salt, added 1/2 cup milk, 3 chopped green onions, and 1 TBSP parsley. BEST SOUP EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Excellent flavor! I made just a few modifications- sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat & used 1/2 chicken broth & 1/2 milk to make it a little creamier. I also used a potato masher to break up the potatoes in the pot prior to serving. My husband and toddler gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calicaliente

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I make about 20 soups a month and almost never make the same soup twice in a month however I've made this soup 4 times in the same month it is to die for people can't get enough of it. I'm a caterer for small event (under 50 people). I cater to all types of people from blue collars to suits and they all love this soup just the same. It will become a perminate item on my menu. Thanks so much!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cemetery
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This soup is delicious! I didn't think it would thicken up after I poured in 4 cups of chicken broth, but after simmering, I had no trouble with the thickness. I would recommend maybe 3/4 cup of cheese instead of 1/2. Other than that, this came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was very tasty! I used regular chicken broth, not low salt. I pureed half of the soup mixture in the blender, then added it to the remaining soup with the bacon. That made for a nice texture. I added some corn and chopped ham to the leftovers the next day for a hearty lunch. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was pretty good as written, but why in the world would you get rid of all that yummy bacon grease and replace it with olive oil??? I know it's supposed to be healthier, but my grandparents both lived into their 90's eating bacon fat and/or lard nearly every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
No good. Only decent after MAJOR changes. It was like potatoes in broth, not a creamy hearty soup. I had to add milk, knorr chicken bouillion and more to make it palatable. Will trash this recipe- not for us, sorry. Maybe better suited to those looking for a brothy potato soup vs. a hearty creamy one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Great Soup - Next time I plan to puree it smooth prior to adding the cheese and bacon - maybe a little cream - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Great soup and my daughter shouted "mom-give this five stars!" My boyfriend ate 3 bowls (and didn't touch the sandwiches I made to go with the soup!). I cooked the veggies in a TBLS of the leftover bacon grease and added 1/2c milk just to ensure it was creamy. Very good soup Kwollak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States