Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natncody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
thank you for a great recipe!! My husband likes thicker soups so I tweaked it a bit to fit our personal preference! I used 2 cans of broth and 1 can of evaporated milk and before adding the liquids I added some flour to create a thicker soup The red pepper really set this one apart from others I've tried! KUDOS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorpark, California, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My whole family loved this! My son said it was amazing! I added red pepper flakes and tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
It was good and tasty, but I used marble cheese and it did not melt nicely. I also added a splash of cream to make a creamy look. Otherwise its more of a clear soup. It has a nice flavor. Feb 5 2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I just made this soup for the first time and I think it's delicious. I used homemade chicken broth so I may have used a bit more than what was called for. I did remove some of the potatoes and puree some with the broth, but I think this is a personal preference and you can judge for yourself whether you need to puree or not. It's definitely a nice, simple and tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious! I really did try to follow completely but first I realized I only had 2 potatoes, so I used a can of sliced potatoes also (couldnt even tell). Also I didn't discard the bacon grease I used to to saute onions. Everything else I followed except I omitted celery (gross) and at the end I wanted it thicker so I added a combination of corn starch and water. I also didn't measure the cheese just put a ton in because we love cheesiness. :) Sooo yummy and easy for a quick winter lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Delicious, made this wonderful soup after hours of snowshoveling, it was great. Followed a reviewer's tip and used milk instead of water to reconsitute stock. I can't get low sodium stock right now, so I used regular but omitted salt. Next time I'll also omit red pepper--it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I have never written a review about any of the recipes I have tried on this site, but this was by far the best potato bacon soup, ever. Didn't change a single ingredient other then to add extra carrots, and used my emulsion blender just to puree it slightly, left a few potato chucks. Husband and son loved it, no left overs for work the next day. Plan to make this soup many times over the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This soup is very good. I didn't add the cheese. Instead, I added 2 teaspoons of chicken bullion. I brought the soup to a boil and let is simmer for about 1 1/2 hours. My husband had 3 bowls ...that is saying a lot, he is very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This soup is very flavorful. Sauted the carrots, celery and onions in the bacon grease, giving extra flavour. I simmered the soup with the lid off, thickening the broth. It was not as thick as if I had used cream or milk but was not water runny. I wasn't looking for thick as in creamy. I doubled the recipe, will triple next time. Crumbled the bacon and put on top of soup along with chopped green onions, also added a dolop of sour cream. This recipe is a keeper, will make often specially in the winter time. Thanks for posting. Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy  BigDogsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States