Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Awesome! I was out of carrots and celery, but cabbage worked just fine with a little celery salt tossed in. This does warm you up on a winter morning. I used pork broth, which doesn't get mentioned often, but is easy to come by in oriental stores and more and more by Knorr in the cubed broth section. Great recipe, full of rich flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
If your looking for something hardy don't try this. You have to make a lot of changes adding flavor and richness. This is just a runny soup like from a cheap can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I tried this soup and found it delish!! I didn't change a thing. It's definitley a winter comfort soup. I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happynana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was delicious! Perfect for a cold winter day. I followed the recipe exactly but did add some cooked Italian sausage I had in the frig. My husband, not a soup craver, loved it and even had a second bowl. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was pretty good as written, but why in the world would you get rid of all that yummy bacon grease and replace it with olive oil??? I know it's supposed to be healthier, but my grandparents both lived into their 90's eating bacon fat and/or lard nearly every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Liked it but it needed help. Was trying to find a bacon and potato soup that didn't have too much fat, but was still hearty and had substance. First off it needed more chicken flavor, so I added additional chicken base. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the veggies when sweating them. Then pre-cooked half of the potatoes and pureed them in a blender to add consistency. Left out the cayenne and cheddar, and my wife said its the best soup I've ever made(and i make lots!) Will keep this one with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brawnwitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odum, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made this recipe last week! double the ingredients and ate soup for lunch three days last week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I loved this soup, but changed a few things; first I didn't need 6 servings so I lessened the broth, using only 2cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of 2% milk. Had no cayanne pepper so I used paprika instead and also added a chicken bouillon cube for flavor. I only used 3 cups of potatoes and 1/4 cup of onions, I didn't touch the quantity on the vegetables. I did however sautee them in the bacon grease instead of olive oil. I like a hearty broth so I added a 1/2 tsp of cornstarch and removed half of the soup, blended it and then returned to pot and mixed it Back in. I couldn't believe I made a soup that was so good, will definitely be a staple in my winter meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
The kids absolutely loved this soup. I thought it needed more salt than the 1/2 teaspoon. Also added additional cayenne, some black pepper, and about 3/4 cup of whole milk (just because to me the cream in the potato soup is what makes it comfort food). Topped with cheese and green onions. The green onions were an awesome addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great simple recipe. The kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States