Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Ok for starters this is NOT the thick white potato soup in many Restaurants. It is yummy but if that's what you are looking for you will be disappointed. But I was looking for a soup that was less than my 1000 calorie per serving butter, flour, cream, cheese bacon type. I made this as stated except I did cook the veggies in a small amount of the bacon fat..it was already in the pan. And I did add garlic in the veggie mix. I also cut my potato in small and large chunks. As the potatoes and veggies simmered and I stirred the small ones broke down and made a thicker broth. The cheese really wasn't necessary but it was my first time making it and tried to follow before I change it. I only added a small handfull maybe a 1/4 cup it did thicken the soup up more. And its cheese it was still yummy. But if you can't eat cheese the soup was still good without. I only seasoned with the cayenne and a little salt and pepper. Very simple but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Surprisingly better than expected, as it appeared very thin/liquidy during the cooling process. Potato flakes would be good to thicken. Would be better to use thick bacon. Don't shy away from the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The only thing we do differently is we us an emulsion blender for a bit just before adding the cheese and bacon. My 6 and 9 year old's favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Really good soup, but doesn't need the cheese. That was overkill. Tastes excellent without. Instead of cayenne I used chipotle, which added an extra smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
OMG, I've been searching for this recipe for years (a non-cream potato soup!). It's just like my Baba's from when I was little! I did make a few changes. My Baba used to put vinegar in her soup to ensure the potatos hold together. So I added 2 tsp white vinegar at the same time as the chicken stock. Also, I didn't add the cheddar cheese, she never added cheese and the soup doesn't really need it. I didn't used olive oil either, I just removed enough bacon grease to ensure about 1 tbsp and the drippings were left in the pan to cook the veggies in. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Family loved it! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The only changes that I made was leaving out the cheddar. I also thickened it a little more with corn starch and water. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I think it's important that I state, that I completely followed the recipe. My family loves this soup, that I've used this recipe more than once. When I am short on time I used the frozen cubed potatoes. (note: the potatoes will be done in 5 mins or less). I hope your family enjoys this soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Huge disappointment. My soup did not turn out like the picture. It's like someone forgot a major ingredient or something (flour or starch) because all I had was a clear liquid broth with veges. If you are looking for the average Potato soup you get at restaurants, this is NOT the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe was super easy and super delish. I didn't even use the cayenne for fear of too much heat. I also used a hand blender and pureed the potatoes before serving and adding the bacon. Next day the kids were looking for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States