Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Delicious. The cayenne added a bit too much kick for my family, so I need to decrease the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was just completely delicious. I did as some others did, I cooked the celery, carrots and onion in the bacon grease, added some ham cubes, added 2 tbsp. cornstarch dissolved in 1/2 cup water, 2 cups of milk and a dash of smoked paprika. It's just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Awesome recipe for a chilly winter night! I used both bacon and diced ham from a ham steak. Also, didn't use olive oil, subbed bacon grease. Use a high-quality sharp cheddar cheese and serve with crusty Italian bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I didn't drain all of the bacon grease (left about 1 tbsp) and I used an immersion blender to make the soup creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this last week and everybody in the family loved it. A little watery for my taste, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotmamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I felt this soup was too bland and seemed more like a broth than the hearty soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I love soup. This recipe is very good as is, plus it is ingredients that you would always have on hand. Besides, who doesn't like bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not really sure what this soup was trying to be. It wasn't creamy at all which made the starchiness of the potatoes stand out. I tried to save it by adding some milk at the end and mashing it up a little, but it didn't help much. The taste was good, but the texture threw me off. I'll go back to my old creamy potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Mmmmm....Mmmmmm... good. We found ours a little salty even after using low salt bacon and adding no salt, but we added some cream (as others suggested) and that really made a good thing even better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Loved this soup. My 3 year old couldnt get enough. I added a little ham just because I had it and needed to use it. But didnt need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gr8shoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States