Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
As usual, I read reviews - nearly 6 pgs of them - got tickled that several reviewers didn't really REVIEW; they REVAMPED the soup into something entirely different from Kwollaks original. Suit yourself, but this soup, just as it IS, is wonderful. I made this for a "Gourmet Group" and all agreed that it is terrific. Being part of such a group, I actually used fresh chicken broth, made from boiling a real chicken and no-salt added. Thank you-this soup was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I changed a few things and all the neighbors loved it-5 people asked for the recipe.Instead of bacon I used 3cups chopped ham (leftover from Thanksgiving), I changed to regular chicken broth, 2 cups of cheddar, omitted the salt, added 1/2 cup milk, 3 chopped green onions, and 1 TBSP parsley. BEST SOUP EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Excellent flavor! I made just a few modifications- sauteed the veggies in the bacon fat & used 1/2 chicken broth & 1/2 milk to make it a little creamier. I also used a potato masher to break up the potatoes in the pot prior to serving. My husband and toddler gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calicaliente

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I make about 20 soups a month and almost never make the same soup twice in a month however I've made this soup 4 times in the same month it is to die for people can't get enough of it. I'm a caterer for small event (under 50 people). I cater to all types of people from blue collars to suits and they all love this soup just the same. It will become a perminate item on my menu. Thanks so much!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cemetery
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This soup is delicious! I didn't think it would thicken up after I poured in 4 cups of chicken broth, but after simmering, I had no trouble with the thickness. I would recommend maybe 3/4 cup of cheese instead of 1/2. Other than that, this came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was very tasty! I used regular chicken broth, not low salt. I pureed half of the soup mixture in the blender, then added it to the remaining soup with the bacon. That made for a nice texture. I added some corn and chopped ham to the leftovers the next day for a hearty lunch. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
No good. Only decent after MAJOR changes. It was like potatoes in broth, not a creamy hearty soup. I had to add milk, knorr chicken bouillion and more to make it palatable. Will trash this recipe- not for us, sorry. Maybe better suited to those looking for a brothy potato soup vs. a hearty creamy one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Great soup and my daughter shouted "mom-give this five stars!" My boyfriend ate 3 bowls (and didn't touch the sandwiches I made to go with the soup!). I cooked the veggies in a TBLS of the leftover bacon grease and added 1/2c milk just to ensure it was creamy. Very good soup Kwollak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Great Soup - Next time I plan to puree it smooth prior to adding the cheese and bacon - maybe a little cream - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This recipe is the greates. I used pepper bacon and homemade chicken broth. The pepper bacon really added a little kick. My husband ate all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States