Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very good soup. Made exactly like recipe using an immersible blender to thicken up the soup. I used more cayenne pepper, but would stick with the 1/8 teaspoon. Had company for lunch and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was really good. 3 out of 4 of the family liked it. My son doesn't really care for potatoes but I thought I'd try it since out has bacon (which he loves)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Pickard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I used diced pancetta a instead of the bacon. I also used my immersion blender to slightly puree the veggies. My husband loved it and asked me to make it again. Terrific cold weather soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was a good soup but I changed it up quite a bit. If I'm going to spend time cleaning and cutting up vegetables I'm going to make a pot full. I added more of all vegetables. Also added more bacon, cayenne pepper & seasoning salt. Next time we are going to add Italian sausage. I also added milk & instant mashed potatoes to thicken it. Very good soup. Served with warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I tweaked this recipe from the tips from other reviews I read. I used a whole package of bacon, some minced garlic, whipping cream and milk to make it a white sauce instead of a clear broth. I might even add ham pieces, sour cream and chives in it next time! It was a hit at our bible study! Delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I adjusted the recipe a bit...added Applewood Chicken Sausage and (Diced) Kale...mmm AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good wholesome soup! I omitted the bacon being a vegetarian and replaced the chicken broth with vegetable. I like another reviewer pureed half to make it creamy. I also added my own spices like dill and Mrs. Dash. I thought this had a really good flavor and is a great lowfat soup if you don't add the cheese (which I didn't). I also like the celery and carrots to give it color. I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
The recipe was great. Thank you Kwollak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
My husband loved this, thought it had really good flavor. My son thought it had too many potatoes! LOL! I liked it but potato soup is not my favorite so we won't be having this real often. I left out the celery since we don't like it and I never cook with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Super, even as leftovers. I doubled the simmering time and added extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States