Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Really good and easy to make. I added parsley and some garlic salt. But stuck to the listed recipe. Worked great for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristieJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
After reading a "ton" of the reviews, and trying to make it straight from the recipe, I have to say this kinda needs a bit (lot) of tweaking. Sorry, and it may just be my taste and the fact I can't add any pepper to things for my mom's sake. BUT....I added garlic to the veggie saute, (love garlic), chicken thigh to the broth, (trying to make a richer base), and then still tasting and tasting as it went along....it was still lacking in flavor (IMO). Ended up adding the garlic, some thigh meat, parsley, onion powder, and mushrooms, oh and used emulsion blender to puree some of the potatoes and make it thicker. My Mom loved it when she added some cream at the end in her bowl, so I will keep it as a great starter. I added black pepper, red pepper and a shot or two of hot sauce to mine. We'll see how it tastes tomorrow, as SO many things like this are better after melding overnight. We ALL tweak things to our tastes, allergies, etc., but I will say this recipe got me into the kitchen to try making a potato soup for the 1st time- so that's always good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
So this recipe actually forced me to write a review. It is Mmm Mmm good. I did follow some of the other changes, but just the small ones. I cooked the vegetables in the bacon grease and add a little bit of garlic. We love garlic. The people who are looking for the creamy potato soup, all you have to do is what the one reviewer suggested. Take out half the soup and purée it in a blender. It is amazing!! I do think the prep time is off, but I could just be slow cutting up everything. All in all, this is an excellent recipe, especially for those of us who can't have dairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendeeB
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I thought my kids would enjoy this, and I was right! Thought it isnt a *pretty* soup, it tastes really really good. I sauteed the veggies in the bacon grease, and added in a spoonful of sour cream in addition to the cheese and it's a total hit! For me, I wouldn't add either cheese or sour cream. Excellent recipe! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendeeB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
You know a recipe is a hit when my 5 year old asks me to pack it in her lunch! This soup was FANTASTIC. I didn't change a thing. It was just hearty enough to serve as the main dish along with a salad and slice of French bread. Thank you for this new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
sooo good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Awesome! I was out of carrots and celery, but cabbage worked just fine with a little celery salt tossed in. This does warm you up on a winter morning. I used pork broth, which doesn't get mentioned often, but is easy to come by in oriental stores and more and more by Knorr in the cubed broth section. Great recipe, full of rich flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
If your looking for something hardy don't try this. You have to make a lot of changes adding flavor and richness. This is just a runny soup like from a cheap can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I tried this soup and found it delish!! I didn't change a thing. It's definitley a winter comfort soup. I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happynana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was delicious! Perfect for a cold winter day. I followed the recipe exactly but did add some cooked Italian sausage I had in the frig. My husband, not a soup craver, loved it and even had a second bowl. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States