Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I doubled the amount of bacon and celery and threw in a good amount of fresh minced garlic. To make it a cream soup, I cut the amount of chicken broth back by a half cup and added in a half cup of evaporated milk. It is a thinner soup than I expected but the flavor was very good. We ate every bit of this soup for lunch, paired with ham sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was a hit! Everyone went back for seconds (luckily I'd doubled it). I really hate when people "change" the recipe, but I did. I added 1 can of rinsed white beans pureed with some of the chicken broth to add more protein and I also added chopped up kale, about 3 cups, to add some more veggies. My daughter-in-law and granddaughter hate beans and never knew they were there. Just makes a bit thicker broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Fantastic! I sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon fat. Used 2 c beef broth, 2 c chicken broth. Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This soup is delicious, very hearty and flavorful. I went by other reviews, and pureed half the soup in the blender, leaving some chunks of potatoes and other vegetables. Also, I added the shredded cheddar cheese when I served the soup, garnishing with parsley. I served grand biscuits and a salad with it. It was the perfect meal, as we had a blizzard yesterday, and spent a good part of the day TRYING to shovel out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I also loosely pureed the soup with an immersion blender leaving some large piece of vegetable. It gave it a very creamy consistency. My daughter said it was just like Panera Breads! That is high praise from her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My kids ate this up and that is saying a lot since they are picky about what they eat. All the flavors come together and make this a great soup for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Tasty!- made recipe as written + garlic (just because it is my best friend) Pureed when done. Second day I added a dollop of sour cream and some green onions to the top fabulous...but that is what happens when all my favorite ingredients come together :) thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Different from any I had eat but I loved it. Will eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Very good soup. Made exactly like recipe using an immersible blender to thicken up the soup. I used more cayenne pepper, but would stick with the 1/8 teaspoon. Had company for lunch and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was really good. 3 out of 4 of the family liked it. My son doesn't really care for potatoes but I thought I'd try it since out has bacon (which he loves)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Pickard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States