Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I made this soup and it was delish! I made two minor adjustments: I cleaned the pan after cooking the bacon, and I took out some, not all, of the potatoes and chicken broth and blended it together until it was creamy, then poured it back into the pot. Topped it off with the cheese and bacon! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This soup is amazing and so hearty when the weather is lousy. The only thing I omit is the cheese but that's just personal taste. My boyfriend loves it with the cheese. Perfect as written. Thanks for such a lovely soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I just made this soup and we already ate every bit of it! It was the best potato and bacon soup we've ever had. It was easy to make and did not require anything that wasn't already at hand. The only change I made was I used regular broth instead of the low sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very good soup!! I didn't have carrots so I added celery and corn. For cheese I used velvetta, because I love using it and all I had. Added a bit more parsley and a lot more pepper to bring in a bit more flavor... Otherwise very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe, but I love a thick soup so I add either a can of cream of celery or a cream of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I tried this recipe because it was the only potato soup recipe that didn't include flour or a rue-based canned soup. I have to keep to a gluten-free diet. It was delious, even though I was out of cayenne pepper. I made it last night and I'm making it again tonight, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
great soup as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious soup, just wish I would have made more. I didn't have bacon, so I used sausage. I sauteed celery and onions in the sausage grease; I didn't have carrots. It was a great meal, especially served with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wonderful recipe! The family loved it. A great hearty soup on a cold day. I've made it twice: the first time by the recipe and then with two slight adjustments. It's a great soup following the recipe. Different than the typical creamy potato soup. The second time I made it I took the suggestion several reviews offered and added 3/4 cup of mashed potato flakes just before serving. This thickened the broth up so it was more like a traditional potato soup. I then added 1/2 cup of pre-cooked bacon bits and served with cheese and the crumbled cooked bacon on top. This is a great soup as is and is great to modify. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I thought this was pretty good - not my favorite, but good enough to make again. I was out of celery (and don't care for it much anyway) so I threw in a handful of fresh chopped parsley and that was a nice addition. I also added a couple extra pieces of bacon (obviously). And after the potatoes had simmered, I mashed them lightly with a potato masher, leaving plenty of chunks but mashing just enough to give it extra thickness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States