Bacon and Parmesan Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My husband asked me to make this several times. It is sooo good. Highly recommended if you're not watching your weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by almostebony
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My kids loved this. The recipe is a perfect base and after that the sky is the limit. I used mushrooms instead of onions and added some peas. I also added a splash of balsamic vinegar like another user suggested and chopped a little basil on top. My oldest daughter wanted seconds and even my hubby, who isn't really a pasta fan, finished a huge bowl. Thanks for the recipe, we will add it to our rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunter Lyndsley Cutrell
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This turned out really well! Only, I ditched the onions and did tomato instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Such a yummy base recipe! My roommate and I stirred in peas and sundried tomatoes to up the nutritional value, but I could see this going well with broccoli, spinach, or even kale. For a little more zing, we sauteed a few cloves of garlic with the veggies and onion. We listened to SusieQ's advice and added a bit of bacon grease to the finished dish--boy, were we glad we did. Just a couple spoonfuls added tons of flavor. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
A quick and easy dinner idea. I took on Johnsonville's challenge of substituting a protein in a 6-ingredient or less recipe with one of their sausages. I chose to substitute the bacon with their Sweet Italian Sausage. I loved the ease of this recipe. It was on the table in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I took a couple of chicken breasts and cubed them. Then cooked them through and added it to the pasta. I've also added other shredded cheese to it in addition to the Parmesan. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe was alright, but the flavors were fairly bland. I took the suggestion of some other reviewers and added garlic cloves, a bit of garlic powder, and some black pepper. My fiancé likes a little more kick, so I suggested that he also add paprika. I also threw in a bit of pecorino romano. In the future, I would also add diced tomatoes to make it a little more interesting in both texture and flavor. Overall, a decent basic idea, but needs some work to make it a meal worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe with my modifications. I cooked bacon separately first in a skillet. Then I scooped cooked bacon out and sautéed onion and about 3 cloves minced fresh garlic in bacon drippings. I also added a can of diced Italian tomatoes and salt and pepper to taste to the cooked onion. Finally, after incorporating the pasta and onion mixture and olive oil, I sprinkled on some parsley and basil. Wonderful for some extra color and flavor. I will be making this dish again. Thank you SusieQ for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My family loves this dish! I am adding a few diced tomatoes just prior to serving to add a little acidity as it is a very rich meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe was easy and good. I really appreciate how easy it was to modify it and make it for only one serving. There just aren't enough meals built for one! I changed it up a bit so I feel bad reviewing it based on my method but here goes. I fried 2 slices of whole bacon first (so it could cool and I could crumble it more easily) and then sauteed the onion in the bacon fat. I added garlic powder, black pepper, and dried basil to the onions. After mixing it all together, I found the end result quite good. I often have leftover bacon and I always keep the other ingredients on hand, so I expect to cook this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States