Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Loved this salad. I only made half a recipe with just a few changes. I reduced the sugar to just a tablespoon for the diabetics in my guest list. I usded white balsamic vinegar to put back some of the sweetness. I also used those tiny grape tomatoes cut in half and didn't bother with cutting out the seeds (much fast prep work). I made this salad the day before without the tomatoes and bacon. On the day of the dinner, I tossed in the grape tomato halves and served the salad out of an oblong glass baking dish using the crisp bacon (that I fried up that day) on top as a garnish. This way the bacon didn't get soft and soggy, and yet every bite had bacon in it because the salad was spread out in the oblong baking dish rather than heaped into a deep dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I usually prefer potato salad to macaroni salad, but that was before I tasted this. I made it exactly as written and it was perfect. This is a new summer favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Really want to give this one 4 1/2 stars. Made this last night and it turned out really good and it was easy! I didn't really change anything like I normally do, except that I don't like green olives so I skipped them. I halved the recipe, and it made more than enough for dinner. The only thing I will change next time is to use a little less vinegar, maybe a half tbsp less when doing a smaller batch, as it was just a little strong (it did mellow out after sitting overnight). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
If you put bacon in something, it's sure to be a winner! I'm not usually a fan of macroni salad but I do like this recipe. The apple cider vinegar gives it a very different taste and my whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
So I have to admit I was so dubious about this recipe but I had most of the ingredients so I thought I would go for it. I made it almost as is (no olives, 1/2 pack bacon, white wine vinegar, penne rigate instead of elbows, cut back to 1/2 the sugar). It made a huge amount of dressing so I added it a bit at a time to the pasta until I was happy with the consistancy, and had lots left. BUT it is delicious!!! I'll make it again, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This recipe was good.. nice texture and flavor. I only gave it 3 stars because I made adjustments to the original recipe.To me the 4 or 5 star should be reserved for those recipes that are truly delicious without having to make extensive changes. Anyways... I made this for a Memorial Day barbeque and halfed the entire recipe because there were just 6 of us. This made plenty for our small group. I cut back on the sugar, vinegar and mustard (as others had suggested) and prepared the recipe the night before in order to give the flavors a chance to fully develop. I expected that I might need make a little more of the mayonaise mixture to add the next day to give the salad a more creamy texture and I was right. Even after this addition, I still felt that it was missing something so, just before serving, I added some fresh dill - this seemed to help. The basic recipe is a good concept so I will most likely try this again and experiment different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This Bacon and Macaroni Salad recipe we will be using all summer long for picnics & parties. The first time we made this i left the chopped tomato & cucumber on the side so you could add how much your personal preference was. The next time we made this we mixed all the ingredients together ( except the green olives, we didn't have any ) and added paprika to the top. I would like to try this recipe with black olives. We served the salad on lettuce leaves and people were cutting the lettuce and eating that right with the salad. We will be using this recipe alot , so we will get many chances to try different twist. Thanks for the cool recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I think with a bit of tweaking this will be great! I didn't have celery or cucumber on hand, so no cucumber, but I added a little celery seed. Took it to a potluck and everyone enjoyed it. I personally think a little more salt or tangy, not quite sure...but overall easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
One of the best macaroni salads I've ever eaten! Love the olives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was great! I made this to go with my Christmas ham. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States