Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Made this the day before our cookout so it had time to sit in the fridge. I checked it at night before going to bed and it was a bit dry. Stirred more mayo, mustard and cider vinegar into it and it turned out ok. Didn't throw in all the cucumber and added a bit of onion. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
If you put bacon in something, it's sure to be a winner! I'm not usually a fan of macroni salad but I do like this recipe. The apple cider vinegar gives it a very different taste and my whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
So I have to admit I was so dubious about this recipe but I had most of the ingredients so I thought I would go for it. I made it almost as is (no olives, 1/2 pack bacon, white wine vinegar, penne rigate instead of elbows, cut back to 1/2 the sugar). It made a huge amount of dressing so I added it a bit at a time to the pasta until I was happy with the consistancy, and had lots left. BUT it is delicious!!! I'll make it again, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
With some changes this will become a staple in our summer diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I usually prefer potato salad to macaroni salad, but that was before I tasted this. I made it exactly as written and it was perfect. This is a new summer favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Really want to give this one 4 1/2 stars. Made this last night and it turned out really good and it was easy! I didn't really change anything like I normally do, except that I don't like green olives so I skipped them. I halved the recipe, and it made more than enough for dinner. The only thing I will change next time is to use a little less vinegar, maybe a half tbsp less when doing a smaller batch, as it was just a little strong (it did mellow out after sitting overnight). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Thank you for a great recipe. I liked the dressing as it was a bit more tangy than your normal macaroni salad dressing. I did not have celery but like another reviewer added celery seed instead. I layered egg slices on top instead of mixing in and omitted olives didn't have any. You could add or omit veggies according to your taste. the only thing was the bacon was a tad bit soggy the next day. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was OK, quite a traditional pasta salad, and as such, not overly exciting, but still tasty. I used halved cherry tomatoes because I like the taste better, and only half the bacon recommended and it was plenty. For the dressing, I used some creamy blue cheese dressing that I had, and added the sour cream, mustard and a bit of mayo to that. Worked fine. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I think with a bit of tweaking this will be great! I didn't have celery or cucumber on hand, so no cucumber, but I added a little celery seed. Took it to a potluck and everyone enjoyed it. I personally think a little more salt or tangy, not quite sure...but overall easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States