Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This recipe was good.. nice texture and flavor. I only gave it 3 stars because I made adjustments to the original recipe.To me the 4 or 5 star should be reserved for those recipes that are truly delicious without having to make extensive changes. Anyways... I made this for a Memorial Day barbeque and halfed the entire recipe because there were just 6 of us. This made plenty for our small group. I cut back on the sugar, vinegar and mustard (as others had suggested) and prepared the recipe the night before in order to give the flavors a chance to fully develop. I expected that I might need make a little more of the mayonaise mixture to add the next day to give the salad a more creamy texture and I was right. Even after this addition, I still felt that it was missing something so, just before serving, I added some fresh dill - this seemed to help. The basic recipe is a good concept so I will most likely try this again and experiment different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this today and I have to say I have really enjoyed it. I cut up the bacon first with scissors which made it easier to cook and less work. I used cucumber, celery, green onion and marble cheddar cheese. I cubed the cheese and the veggies I cut up to bite sized pieces. I took the advice of some other reviewers and cut back on the amount of dressing and halved the sugar I put in. I enjoyed the recipe and its a good summer lunch item. I also think it would taste good with chicken in it as well. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pais

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good. I cut the sugar and vinegar in half because it seemed like an awful lot of sugar to me. It was still slightly sweet and tangy which I like. You probably won't need to use all of the dressing. I used about 2/3 of it and it was plenty. Tasted better on the day it's made. Leftovers weren't as good. I'll make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very flavorful. I used pre-cooked bacon to save time and mess. Party goers wanted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin H. Kluge Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Yummy! I only had the cucumber and used celery seed as suggested by another reviewer and it is still amazing! It is so fast and easy..definitely my new potluck dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Made this for company and everyone raved about it. I was the only one that wasn't crazy about it. All the gals asked for the recipe. Followed the recipe pretty close, which is not normal for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I deleted tomatoes (don't like them)added extra cukes, and subbed penne for the macaroni. It is absolutely delicious. Great for a get-together - no one will bring the same dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good! I used a little less than 1 pound of elbows and the salad was wet with dressing, just how I like it. I used grape tomatoes cut in half and I left out the olives and celery. The dressing is tasty and the bacon and eggs are yummy. This is probably the best pasta salad recipe I have found. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This turned out really yummy and I liked the constinency of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States