Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this salad as a main course for dinner with a few chicken strips served over lettuce. It was PERFECT. My family said it's the best pasta salad they've ever had, and it was easy to make to boot. Since it was my main course, I used big noodles (ziti) instead of the elbows. Also just a few changes due to personal preference: 86'd the olives and tomatoes, added one medium chopped onion. No sour cream, since I didn't have any in the house, so I used some extra mayo and some ranch to make up for it. Also added some dill, because I love dill. It makes a TON, but it's so good we will surely have it finished off by the end of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was better the second day. I left off the olives too, personal choice. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This Bacon and Macaroni Salad recipe we will be using all summer long for picnics & parties. The first time we made this i left the chopped tomato & cucumber on the side so you could add how much your personal preference was. The next time we made this we mixed all the ingredients together ( except the green olives, we didn't have any ) and added paprika to the top. I would like to try this recipe with black olives. We served the salad on lettuce leaves and people were cutting the lettuce and eating that right with the salad. We will be using this recipe alot , so we will get many chances to try different twist. Thanks for the cool recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Loved this salad. I only made half a recipe with just a few changes. I reduced the sugar to just a tablespoon for the diabetics in my guest list. I usded white balsamic vinegar to put back some of the sweetness. I also used those tiny grape tomatoes cut in half and didn't bother with cutting out the seeds (much fast prep work). I made this salad the day before without the tomatoes and bacon. On the day of the dinner, I tossed in the grape tomato halves and served the salad out of an oblong glass baking dish using the crisp bacon (that I fried up that day) on top as a garnish. This way the bacon didn't get soft and soggy, and yet every bite had bacon in it because the salad was spread out in the oblong baking dish rather than heaped into a deep dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
One of the best macaroni salads I've ever eaten! Love the olives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This recipe was good.. nice texture and flavor. I only gave it 3 stars because I made adjustments to the original recipe.To me the 4 or 5 star should be reserved for those recipes that are truly delicious without having to make extensive changes. Anyways... I made this for a Memorial Day barbeque and halfed the entire recipe because there were just 6 of us. This made plenty for our small group. I cut back on the sugar, vinegar and mustard (as others had suggested) and prepared the recipe the night before in order to give the flavors a chance to fully develop. I expected that I might need make a little more of the mayonaise mixture to add the next day to give the salad a more creamy texture and I was right. Even after this addition, I still felt that it was missing something so, just before serving, I added some fresh dill - this seemed to help. The basic recipe is a good concept so I will most likely try this again and experiment different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this today and I have to say I have really enjoyed it. I cut up the bacon first with scissors which made it easier to cook and less work. I used cucumber, celery, green onion and marble cheddar cheese. I cubed the cheese and the veggies I cut up to bite sized pieces. I took the advice of some other reviewers and cut back on the amount of dressing and halved the sugar I put in. I enjoyed the recipe and its a good summer lunch item. I also think it would taste good with chicken in it as well. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pais

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very good. I cut the sugar and vinegar in half because it seemed like an awful lot of sugar to me. It was still slightly sweet and tangy which I like. You probably won't need to use all of the dressing. I used about 2/3 of it and it was plenty. Tasted better on the day it's made. Leftovers weren't as good. I'll make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very flavorful. I used pre-cooked bacon to save time and mess. Party goers wanted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin H. Kluge Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States