Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe states for a RPG gaming session with six hearty college kids and there was none left. They weren't very interested in the salad until they tried it and then it just disappeared. I did use a seedless English cucumber and black olives instead of green, but it's the dressing that really makes this. My *daughter* asked for the dressing recipe and she never likes dressing! We have made this three times in the last week - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
All of the family loved this --even my daughter who doesn't like much. Did not add the add the celery -- but did add shredded carrots and chopped broccoli. Not too vinegary for my husband. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murtaugh, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I've just made this for the 3rd time in a couple weeks! Everyone just LOVES this salad...I do use a lil less noodles or a lil more dressing because the noodles tend to soak it up pretty good. I sometimes leave out some of the veggies (cucumber, olives & celery) and its wonderful either way...thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgely, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is great. I made a few minor modifications; used fat free plain yogurt in place of the mayo (I don't like the plain yogurt by itself and I really like mayo but mixed in with other things it is hard to tell a difference), no olives, added cilantro, used turkey bacon, and just because my husband likes spicy food I diced up a fresh hot red chili pepper. I started out added the dressing slowly as other suggested but ended up using it all. Also as others suggested I didn't add the bacon and egg until ready to serve. Very good, will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I don't like Macaroni Salad. I never have and I was sure I never would. I was asked to make a Macaroni Salad for an event so I went searching for a recipe I thought might have a chance. I had my doubts with every one including this one. Since I love bacon I thought it just might have a chance though. OMG! It is incredible! I couldn't stop eating it! I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Very tasty. Only cooking for 2 now, so I recalculated for 4 servings (still over 1 cup per serving). I am following Weight Watchers right now so I only used 4 slices of bacon, substituted whole grain pasta, used light mayo, light sour cream and spenda. I also forgot about the egg so I didn't use that and skipped the celery. It was very good, I love the sweet taste with the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I Love this recipe. I omit the olives and use chicken or turkey bacon to suit my friends and family taste. Everyone I know loves this and its extremly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is amazing! The only variation I made was substituting the sugar with Splenda. This is the type of recipe that you can add or subtract whatever you like or don't like. Throw whatever you have in your garden...squash, zuchinni, green peas, onion, asparagus. Next time I'm going to put more sour cream than mayonaise to get a BLT taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanieLucy68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This macaroni salad is amazing. I was looking for a recipe that had bacon. I came across this one and crossed my fingers that it would be good and like I said it was AMAZING! I have made it several times for different people and it's always a huge hit! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is pretty good. It's not my favorite macaroni salad that I have made, but still good. I love bacon and I guess I had higher expectaions for this. It was kind of bland. I would make this again with some personal tweaks to the dressing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States