Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a nice variation on a mac salad. The bacon, tomato and olives are a nice combination. I didn't like the cucumber in the this - it added water and a flavor that seemed a little out of place with the rest of the ingredients. The dressing recipe is a standard for me. I start with the mayo and sour cream and then add the rest a bit at a time until I get the taste and consistency that I like. I generally add dill to this dressing and will do that next time for this salad. I know that a lot of people want to add cheese to a mac salad. While it's all up to personal taste, of course, this is one that I think works better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Just made this fourth of July cookout. Awesome and it hasn't even chilled off yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Made as written and it taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This salad is DELICOUS! I followed the recipe only adding colby jack cheese cubes - VERY YUMMY! There are very few macaroni salads that I like - this one... I LOOOOOVE! I will definitely bring this one to picnics and potlucks - thank you soooo much for sharing! Oh - and SUPER easy to make! I had all of the ingredients on hand! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
i have made this twice now and as a diabetic i used honey not sugar. this is a great recipe next time i will skip the olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Mmmmm mmmmm mmmmmm!!! This is very very good!! It did seem to me to require quite a bit of work, with cooking bacon and pasta, boiling eggs, and chopping vegetables. It was definitely worth all the effort though (that's coming from a man: we don't have a reputation for wanting to put a lot of effort into our meals). I may try it with tuna istead of bacon next time to make it easier, faster, and healthier. I know that will make it a completely different dish, but I think it will still be good. If you like maceroni salad definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
extremely tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
The wife wouldn't allow green olives (I can see how they would work though), but this was a nice pasta salad. The dressing was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Made no changes other than to use whole grain pasta in seashell shape....great salad, may add some shredded cheddar next time, loved the dressing and it was chock full of veggies.....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I make a mean Tuna Macaroni Salad. Every gathering ,I am asked to bring it. I AM SO SICK OF MAKING IT. I looked at this recipe, and thought it sounded interesting. I made it this morning. OMG !!! This is really really good. Yes it takes a little work,but way worth it. I doubled the recipe, but tripled the dressing. I used Turkey Bacon. Fantastic!!!! After six hours the dressing was perfectly absorbed. You have to try this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States