Bacon and Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I really DON'T LIKE macaroni salad! However, my husband loves it ! So I found this recipe that called for cucumber, tomatoes AND Bacon!!! I did alter this recipe simply because I don't like sweet salads of any kind. I only added ABOUT a tablesoon of sugar. I don't measure exact but i added a little extra sour cream and substituted 1/2 c cidar vinegar for arount 1/8 c white vin. As I didn't have any. Wasn't quite sure what the substitution would be like. finally, I added the crumbled bacon upon serving as to preserve the crispness of the bacon. Love, Love this Maccaroni Salad!!! THOUGHT ID NEVER SAY THAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this recipe today. it is a really good base for a pasta salad but for my tastes required a little adjustment. I made the recipe as is but I made a double batch, doubling all ingredients EXCEPT FOR the vinegar. The vinegar taste really does mellow out after it rests so don't be alarmed if its a bit tangy at first. I added chives, thyme, dill, and garlic powder to mine and was liberal with the sugar. I prefer a sweeter salad. I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I had to doctor it up a bit. I'm sure for many people it is a 5 star dish as is but I'm a bit picky. Its definitely a recipe worth giving a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlie Coi Neevel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Awesome! My only changes were using shells (only pasta on hand) and added a bit more bacon (thick cut). Overall, a winner! I also added a tad more sour cream the next day to keep the same creamy texture as the night before! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Kaminski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I didn't care for the mix of flavors. I gave it 4 stars because I think it would be good if that's what you liked. Ha! Does that make sense? Definitely try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Love it! I'll do it as a main dish and my kids gobble it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for Father's Day. And I thought it was good. One review said they used an oblong glass baking dish and sprinkled the bacon and tomato on top. I mixed the tomato in, but I did use a glass baking dish to serve and added the bacon on top and it just looked so good! Once I placed it on the table, everyone said it looked amazing and they couldn't wait to try. Everyone liked or loved it. But my husband was adding mayonnaise to his sandwich and then used the spoon on his salad and said the mayonnaise tasted amazing w/the salad. However, as people were taking up leftovers (it makes a lot), I told them what my husband said and they said they wouldn't change a thing. I will make this again, it is crowd pleasing. My personal opinion was that it is simply good. Nothing more or less. But others loved it. And that's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Even though the bacon did get soggy the next day, this is still an exceptional salad recipe. I used an English cucumber and black olives. Next time I might try the green olives. I made this for a baby shower and everyone loved it. I am eating the leftovers and enjoying every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Made this for a family BBQ. Adult and kids all loved it. I made a couple changes: used grape tomatoes (no seeding required), omitted olives (1/2 family doesn't like them, would have made a nice addition), added green pepper. At first I didn't add all the dressing, after refrigerated overnight, it was a bit dry. I added remaining dressing, perfect. The more veggies the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Coulter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I love this recipe, wouldn't change a thing. Add some shrimp, makes it even better. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I used the dressing and omitted the eggs, olives and cucumbers. these would have been good in the salad but I made other sides that had eggs and cucumbers so did not want same ingredients. Served at a graduation party and everyone loved it. Should have doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States