Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
Very delicious, but if you make the cups over regular muffin cups (3 x 1 1/2), there isn't enough room for all the filling stuff; making the pastry cups is rather time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These are so yummy and easy. I love them warm and I love them cold for picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Love the variation, with crust... but for EZ, use regular muffin tin, spray, fold in a slice of ham or turkey, put the egg in bake 375 for 15-20... They come out crisp. I will bake both because some people don't like (how not to like?) the crust or if you see you just need more food--fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
well I didn't have pie crust so I used whole wheat biscuit recipe from allrecipes which is wonderful. I beat eggs, tomatoes and onions together, salt and pepper and baked the biscuits in muffin tins which were too small. After they cooked for about 8 min. i took them out of the oven made holes in the center and filled the holes with the filling and filled the tops also, then i sprinkled with cheese. I Put the holes in the other muffin tins to bake. I also only had enough bread for 4 muffins so with the remaining mixture I just put it in a muffin tin and its an omlette tart for all of your guests who are wheat or gluten sensitive. Love this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This recipe was a tremendous success when I served it to family and friends. It will become my "standard" at brunch gatherings from now on. I prepared the tart shells ahead of time, carefully placed them in tuperware containers and froze them. This makes preparation a snap on the day of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These are freaking fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I've made this before but using wholemeal bread instead of pie pastry. I rolled the bread with a pin to remove all air in it and compress the bread into a thin bread sheet, fold the bread sheet into the muffin tray and brushed it with butter before cracking the egg in it with bacon/ham and cheese. Sprinkle the top with nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Made these using frozen ready-made tarts and mixed everything in a bowl and then filled the tarts. I used frozen diced onions (didn't bother to cook ahead of time). I made two different kinds: one with diced Canadian bacon and the other with packaged real bacon bits. I prefered the latter. These reheat wonderfully in the microwave. Perfect for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Wow! This recipe made me a hero with my inlaws! I made variations on the fillings (some people don't eat bacon, etc.) so that everyone could have what they liked best. Kids loved having "their own" just like the grown-ups (who helped themselves to 2-3 each!)After reading another review of the recipe, I made my version in the extra large muffin tins (usually used for commercial use) and kept my oven just a tad lower because they were cooking quite quickly. I WILL make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This has also become a regular at brunch gatherings for us! This recipe is pretty much perfect, I used whole pieces of bacon and wrapped them around the cups so it "hugs" the egg. I also added a teaspoon of Dijon mustard per 2 servings for extra flavour. Thanks for your yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States