Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This has also become a regular at brunch gatherings for us! This recipe is pretty much perfect, I used whole pieces of bacon and wrapped them around the cups so it "hugs" the egg. I also added a teaspoon of Dijon mustard per 2 servings for extra flavour. Thanks for your yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Made these using frozen ready-made tarts and mixed everything in a bowl and then filled the tarts. I used frozen diced onions (didn't bother to cook ahead of time). I made two different kinds: one with diced Canadian bacon and the other with packaged real bacon bits. I prefered the latter. These reheat wonderfully in the microwave. Perfect for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
These are very good. I used diced ham instead of bacon & also added some diced onion. Next time I think I'll add some red or green pepper also for color & flavor. Over all, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Fabulous recipe - the product is sensational. It does, however, need slightly larger tins to accomodate a whole egg comfortably. I added red capsicum as a garnish before cooking & a little dab of plum sauce just after the milk to the pastry shells. It works well to add a bit of zest to the flavour. Will certainly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Made this recipe in tartlets, so beat the eggs like you would for scrambled in with the milk,cheese,bacon, salt and pepper and then poured a bit into each tartlet. Very good. Cooked crusts 8 minutes, then with filling 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Clean up was a bear because the egg leaked through the pastry shells. Either have thick pastry or don't prick too hard. My 3yr old loved helping to make it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This recipe was a tremendous success when I served it to family and friends. It will become my "standard" at brunch gatherings from now on. I prepared the tart shells ahead of time, carefully placed them in tuperware containers and froze them. This makes preparation a snap on the day of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Wow! This recipe made me a hero with my inlaws! I made variations on the fillings (some people don't eat bacon, etc.) so that everyone could have what they liked best. Kids loved having "their own" just like the grown-ups (who helped themselves to 2-3 each!)After reading another review of the recipe, I made my version in the extra large muffin tins (usually used for commercial use) and kept my oven just a tad lower because they were cooking quite quickly. I WILL make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
Very delicious, but if you make the cups over regular muffin cups (3 x 1 1/2), there isn't enough room for all the filling stuff; making the pastry cups is rather time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States