Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have made something similar to this. I am gluten sensitive so I just make the filling. I use silicon muffin pan and they come out great. I find that this is a recipe that you can adjust very easily. If you have ham, use ham. If you have leftover veggies, add that. I found a broccoli slaw (grated broccoli, cabbage and grated carrot)for $0.99 at my local grocer. I used that with a bit of bacon. If I make these for a brunch, I will make both with the crust and without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I use packaged, frozen puff-pastry tart shells. Scramble the eggs with a little milk, and fold-in diced smoked Scottish Salmon, minced Shallots, rinsed nonpariel capers and chopped Escargot. Top with grated Gruyere cheese. Sprinkle with dried Fines Herbes....serve with chilled Vouvrey, or Champagne, and a crisp Romaine-heart salade with garlic, oil and champagne vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked Uncle Keith

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious:-)I made my own pie crust, and it was a little too greasy, so I kept them in the muffin pans for all of the time, and didn't take them out until serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenbaker98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were pretty good. I misread the ingredients when I was at the store and got pre-made pie crust. I just cut the pie shell into fours and cut off most of the excess. I cooked the pie crust according to package directions then added the filling before cooking again. I did as others suggested and scrambled everything and put it the tarts. They taste like mini quiches. I think I would try this again, possibly with bacon, parmesan or broccoli and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used a frozen pie shell that I had on hand and used a biscuit cutter to make little tarts. I cooked these in a muffin tin. I took the advice of another reviewer and just beat the eggs like scrambled eggs together with the cheese, milk and I used regular bacon and just poured this into the little tart crusts. My husband practically inhaled these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Not really what I was hoping for. The pie crust didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
well I didn't have pie crust so I used whole wheat biscuit recipe from allrecipes which is wonderful. I beat eggs, tomatoes and onions together, salt and pepper and baked the biscuits in muffin tins which were too small. After they cooked for about 8 min. i took them out of the oven made holes in the center and filled the holes with the filling and filled the tops also, then i sprinkled with cheese. I Put the holes in the other muffin tins to bake. I also only had enough bread for 4 muffins so with the remaining mixture I just put it in a muffin tin and its an omlette tart for all of your guests who are wheat or gluten sensitive. Love this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I've made this before but using wholemeal bread instead of pie pastry. I rolled the bread with a pin to remove all air in it and compress the bread into a thin bread sheet, fold the bread sheet into the muffin tray and brushed it with butter before cracking the egg in it with bacon/ham and cheese. Sprinkle the top with nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Nice idea, though, but Ithink I'll try a shortcut. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have made these for years but use ready made large size biscuits that you separate in three layers and put into muffin tins Other wise they are the same. I will try the pie crust and see which I like better. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States