Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have been making these for years but with pecans rather than almonds, which we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have been making these apps for years. Always delish!! A nice variation is to skip the almonds and after wrapping the date, roll in a small bowl of brown sugar with a few shakes of cayenne pepper mixed in. It gives a slight kick and is even more yummy. Also quicker to do, since the almond in the middle interfers with sticking the tootpick through. Be sure to bake with this method, not broil because the sugar will burn too quickly in the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This might be the most surprisingly delicious appetizer I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These were delicious. You should try making them as well substituting parmesan cheese for the almond. Sweet, salty, savoury....YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these for a wedding reception that was finger foods only, and these went down a complete storm! Delicious combination of sweet and salty. Make more than you think you'll need; people can't stay away from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These are easy to make and a huge hit! I precook the bacon a little first which makes them less greasy. They are great with dried apricots instead of dates, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Simplistic in the ingredients but a delicious complexity of flavor. They were devoured before they had a chance to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPYGIRLLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I tried these using figs and they were delicious. It's what I had on hand. I can't wait to try them with dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is my favorite appetizer. Dangerous. I could eat them all myself. I freeze these well ahead. I made the mistake one year of using a maple bacon and ooh, way too sweet for me. I also use pecans instead of the almonds. Personal preference I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
As a professional caterer I am always looking for new appetizers to delight the palate of my customers. This is extremely delish and easy. I used cashews instead of almonds and it was and is very good. Highly recommend this for anyone wanting something sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States