Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these for a wedding reception that was finger foods only, and these went down a complete storm! Delicious combination of sweet and salty. Make more than you think you'll need; people can't stay away from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These are easy to make and a huge hit! I precook the bacon a little first which makes them less greasy. They are great with dried apricots instead of dates, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Simplistic in the ingredients but a delicious complexity of flavor. They were devoured before they had a chance to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPYGIRLLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I tried these using figs and they were delicious. It's what I had on hand. I can't wait to try them with dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is my favorite appetizer. Dangerous. I could eat them all myself. I freeze these well ahead. I made the mistake one year of using a maple bacon and ooh, way too sweet for me. I also use pecans instead of the almonds. Personal preference I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
As a professional caterer I am always looking for new appetizers to delight the palate of my customers. This is extremely delish and easy. I used cashews instead of almonds and it was and is very good. Highly recommend this for anyone wanting something sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Left out the almonds and deep fried it like another review suggested. I loved the consistency. Next time I'll try it with the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Bake for 400 for 20. I used thick bacon cut in thirds, no tooth pics. I put a variety of things in them: cream cheese/ jalapenos cream cheese/ whole almond cream cheese/ jalapeno and kalmata olives whole almond only cream cheese/ slivered almonds/jalapenos And maybe more ... they were all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I use smoked almonds, and I use 1/3 of a slice of bacon to wrap each date. First time I took these to a family reunion, they were the first appetizer gone. Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alnkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States