Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Add goat cheese to these and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
These were easy enough to make, but didn't wow me or any of my guests. I'm sure it's just a matter of personal taste, though, and I'm glad I tried the recipe. Thanks for sharing, CINNTX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Like it with dates. You can halve the dates and the bacon. Better with prunes (half prune and half a bacon strip) - don't tell and no one can guess you used prunes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I totally agree that baking them is better. I have one thing to add. When I was in Bahrain (little country next to Saudi Arabia) a little restaurant served these, (yes they used bacon) with a mango sauce. Delicious! You could use Mango Jam or make your own. Two large mangoes, 2 tablespoons of lime juice, and 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar, or to taste. Blend mangoes in food processor until smooth, add lime juice and sugar and there you have it. Serve as a dipping sauce. If you can get your hands on dates from Saudi Arabia such as Sukkary they are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I liked the overall flavor of the bacon and date appetizer. I cut the bacon too short, I should have allowed way more overlapped. I popped them in the microwave on a paper towel lined plate (helped get rid of extra grease too) right before guests arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Better stay with the broiler. I baked mine and the were all burned in the bottom part and not done in the top part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchi Triviño

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
These are so much better if you bake at 375! Deep fry? Bacon deep fried is an awful thing to do, so I can imagine it would completely ruin this recipe....BAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Kubitz-Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I used thick cut bacon and stretched the bacon around the dates which caused the bacon to shrink and unwrap after about 10 minutes of baking, so I toothpicked the second batch, I baked at 400' and turned over once the bottoms were brown. Baked them for around 30-40 minutes (double batch) and kept a close eye on them. Stuffed half with toasted almonds and half with chunks of quality aged parmesan. I loved the parmesan ones better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
AWESOME! One of my friends just requested that I make these for our Memorial Day BBQ bc she loved them so much. I cooked these at 400 for about 15 mins not broil. Easy to prepare... and just TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States