Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We make these regularly and also have them at a local Cuban restaurant as an appetizer. At Havana Cafe in Phoenix, az, they stuff the date with a little lsice of SPANISH Chorizo. (NOT mexican ground up chorizo-there is a huge diference). These are a huge hit whenever we make them or take folks to dinner at Havana. I do them in the oven in the winter and on the BBQ in the summer. We also sometimes used peppered backon (applewood smoked from Nueske's in WI only) they ship.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made them for a get together. Everyone loved them. I cooked the bacon a little bit before I wrapped the dates, I like my bacon extra crisp. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Bottom, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I make those with walnuts and they turn out fantastic. You can substitute dates with Prunes-I ate them once at friend`s place and it was equally good. I usually use oven but I cooked it once in the microwave and even that was good :D Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone loved them at our Christmas party. All were pleasantly surprised by the crunch inside. Reading the reviews from others, I took the advice to use thick-sliced bacon. I made some with the dates stuffed with almonds, as well as water chestnuts. Both versions were loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The leftovers are even better if you are able to keep them! After taking them out of the fridge, heat for 45 seconds in the microwave and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had these at a party a good number of years ago and still remember them because I think I ate 20 and only felt slightly guilty. They were soooo good! I don't remember whether they were raw or cooked almonds but I do remember they were cooked over a gas grill and served still warm. Sweet, salty and nutty. I will make these again soon but will try them over a charcoal grill. These are the ultimate party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had bought a package of dates rolled in chopped almonds and wanted to use them up. I decided to try them with this recipe. I chopped the date with almonds in half, and wrapped half a strip of bacon around it. It turned out delicious! Being health-conscious, I couldn't eat more than a couple, but this makes for a tasty and filling appetizer! Not to mention ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
simple is always better- so yummy! Can't go wrong with this app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
In looking for different appetizers, I liked this idea. My son who lives in Manhatten confirmed it was good so I tried it for a holiday party. BIG HIT!! And so easy. I did it the morning of the event and used the oven at 350 so I could dovetail other prep. While it took longer, not as likely to burn if you're busy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this for a Thanksgiving appetizer. Simply delicious! The sweetness of the dates goes great with the saltiness of the bacon. I stuffed half of them with almonds and the other half with water chestnuts, and they both turned out great. Overall, very simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States