Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
My brother brought this to a whole new level. Use Medjool dates. Pit them. Add half of a sea scallop inside instead of the almond. Wrap with bacon and bake 20 minutes at 400 degrees.With the drippings, add tablespoon butter and 2 tblspoons brown sugar into small pan.. Whisk together.. drizzle over the baked bacon/date/scallop appetizer. Serve. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Replaced almonds with goat cheese -yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
For my son's wedding, I made them with cream cheese and some with gruyere. The ones with the cream cheese actually tasted best, imo! (This would give it 5 stars, but I am rating the original recipe.) To make them, I slit the dates and stuffed the cheese. I cut the bacon into thirds and wrapped around each date. I then skewered five or six of them on wooden skewers that I'd soaked in water. They were baked in a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Because they were on skewers, it was easy to turn them over half-way thru and brown the bacon on the opposite side. I transfered them to wire racks to cool a bit before serving. To serve, push them off the skewers and serve with or without toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Add goat cheese to these and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
These were easy enough to make, but didn't wow me or any of my guests. I'm sure it's just a matter of personal taste, though, and I'm glad I tried the recipe. Thanks for sharing, CINNTX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Like it with dates. You can halve the dates and the bacon. Better with prunes (half prune and half a bacon strip) - don't tell and no one can guess you used prunes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I totally agree that baking them is better. I have one thing to add. When I was in Bahrain (little country next to Saudi Arabia) a little restaurant served these, (yes they used bacon) with a mango sauce. Delicious! You could use Mango Jam or make your own. Two large mangoes, 2 tablespoons of lime juice, and 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar, or to taste. Blend mangoes in food processor until smooth, add lime juice and sugar and there you have it. Serve as a dipping sauce. If you can get your hands on dates from Saudi Arabia such as Sukkary they are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I liked the overall flavor of the bacon and date appetizer. I cut the bacon too short, I should have allowed way more overlapped. I popped them in the microwave on a paper towel lined plate (helped get rid of extra grease too) right before guests arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Better stay with the broiler. I baked mine and the were all burned in the bottom part and not done in the top part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conchi Triviño

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
These are so much better if you bake at 375! Deep fry? Bacon deep fried is an awful thing to do, so I can imagine it would completely ruin this recipe....BAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Kubitz-Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States