Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My Mom makes this every year for our family's Christmas Eve Appetizer Potluck Party. We call it Devils on Horseback (there are also Angels on Horseback - same thing but with oysters instead of dates and almonds). The only change we make is to drizzle a little orange juice concentrate on top of them right beofre they go in the oven. DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sillyconniegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made these for a dinner party and they were a huge hit!! I did half of them with just the almond in them, the other half I did with the almond and a small piece of feta. Definitely a great mix of the sweet/salty that so many people like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We make these regularly and also have them at a local Cuban restaurant as an appetizer. At Havana Cafe in Phoenix, az, they stuff the date with a little lsice of SPANISH Chorizo. (NOT mexican ground up chorizo-there is a huge diference). These are a huge hit whenever we make them or take folks to dinner at Havana. I do them in the oven in the winter and on the BBQ in the summer. We also sometimes used peppered backon (applewood smoked from Nueske's in WI only) they ship.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made them for a get together. Everyone loved them. I cooked the bacon a little bit before I wrapped the dates, I like my bacon extra crisp. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Bottom, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I make those with walnuts and they turn out fantastic. You can substitute dates with Prunes-I ate them once at friend`s place and it was equally good. I usually use oven but I cooked it once in the microwave and even that was good :D Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone loved them at our Christmas party. All were pleasantly surprised by the crunch inside. Reading the reviews from others, I took the advice to use thick-sliced bacon. I made some with the dates stuffed with almonds, as well as water chestnuts. Both versions were loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The leftovers are even better if you are able to keep them! After taking them out of the fridge, heat for 45 seconds in the microwave and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had these at a party a good number of years ago and still remember them because I think I ate 20 and only felt slightly guilty. They were soooo good! I don't remember whether they were raw or cooked almonds but I do remember they were cooked over a gas grill and served still warm. Sweet, salty and nutty. I will make these again soon but will try them over a charcoal grill. These are the ultimate party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had bought a package of dates rolled in chopped almonds and wanted to use them up. I decided to try them with this recipe. I chopped the date with almonds in half, and wrapped half a strip of bacon around it. It turned out delicious! Being health-conscious, I couldn't eat more than a couple, but this makes for a tasty and filling appetizer! Not to mention ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
simple is always better- so yummy! Can't go wrong with this app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States