Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Super easy to make! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Followed the 400 degrees for 20 minutes as suggested by others and then broiled for the last 5 to 10 - depending on how you like the bacon (crispier or softer). Used sliced almonds. Sauteed the almonds in a frying pan with butter, brown sugar, garlic powder and salt. Then stuffed them in the dates and wrapped with the bacon. If you wrap tight enough and place properly you don't need the toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe just proves that EVERYTHING tastes better with bacon. I made it exactly as suggested, and they were wonderful! On a side note, those who give this recipe a low rating when they changed just about everything in it should be ignored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Great hit!! I baked them in the oven like others had mentioned with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Finksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
stuff w/chorizo. bake at 400' for 15-20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
My brother brought this to a whole new level. Use Medjool dates. Pit them. Add half of a sea scallop inside instead of the almond. Wrap with bacon and bake 20 minutes at 400 degrees.With the drippings, add tablespoon butter and 2 tblspoons brown sugar into small pan.. Whisk together.. drizzle over the baked bacon/date/scallop appetizer. Serve. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Has anyone tried it with cashews?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Replaced almonds with goat cheese -yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made these with almonds and decided I didn't care for them so much, so I will give the rating a 4. For my son's wedding, I made them with cream cheese and some with gruyere. The ones with the cream cheese actually tasted best, imo! (This would give it 5 stars, but I am rating the original recipe.) To make them, I slit the dates and stuffed the cheese. I cut the bacon into thirds and wrapped around each date. I then skewered five or six of them on wooden skewers that I'd soaked in water. They were baked in a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Because they were on skewers, it was easy to turn them over half-way thru and brown the bacon on the opposite side. I transfered them to wire racks to cool a bit before serving. To serve, push them off the skewers and serve with or without toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Add goat cheese to these and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States