Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Easy to assemble, no toothpicks, had to make sure no hidden pits and stems,thick sliced, baked 400 degrees for 20 minutes, a little burnt on the bottom, everyone afraid to try them cause they are Not attractive. Once tried...A Big hit! It didn't matter if it is burnt..really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I had high hopes for this appetizer after all the amazing reviews. I made them and quickly had to leave for my party where I was taking them. I read that they were fine cooled off a bit, so wasn't worried that they wouldn't be piping hot. When I tasted them out of the oven, I wasn't overwhelmed. A bit disappointed even. I even tried cooking a few of them more, to see if they would be better, because the bacon just didn't seem right. Not crunchy enough. People ate them at the party, but I wasn't near the table to hear comments. I had about half the recipe at home because i made too many, so I put them in the fridge before leaving. Well, I must say that after a day in the fridge, I just tried one and they were DELICIOUS! So, I definitely preferred them cold. The flavors mixed much better and the bacon seemed crunchier and just really good! So, I would make these again, but definitely make them ahead of time and chill first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I like my bacon crisp, so I found it difficult to cook without burning half of them. The ones that didn't burn were ok, but didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I enjoyed these. They're both chewy/crunchy & sweet/savory. I baked them on a cast iron griddle for 10 min. on the bottom rack of the preheated to 400F oven before switching the oven to broil and moving the griddle to the top rack to brown the tops for a few minutes. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Nik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I did what others suggested by cooking the bacon wrapped dates @400 for 12-15 minutes. Everyone loved them and an entire plate was empty within minutes. The only real issue with these things is they run out quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Quick and easy! Most were skeptical at first but then surprised at how good these were. Big hit with the guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is just GREAT! I always make it but without the almonds. You can also microwave it. Instant hit, empty tray, guaranteed success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My favorite appetizer, but I stuff them with cream cheese and then stick the almond in...Heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nebo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Super easy to make! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Followed the 400 degrees for 20 minutes as suggested by others and then broiled for the last 5 to 10 - depending on how you like the bacon (crispier or softer). Used sliced almonds. Sauteed the almonds in a frying pan with butter, brown sugar, garlic powder and salt. Then stuffed them in the dates and wrapped with the bacon. If you wrap tight enough and place properly you don't need the toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States