Bacon and Cheddar Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This recipe was a hit at my daughter's baby shower. I made a change by adding 2 pieces of toasted bread diced small. It helped absorb some of the oils. I also cooked the mushroom caps in a little olive oil before stuffing them so they were nice and tender when done. Great tasting mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BILLIARDSUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
These were very good . I might suggest that when a recipe calls for crumbled bacon, that it is much easier to slice the bacon into small pieces before you cook them .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Fantastic! These were an AWESOME change from the recipe that I usually use. My entire family loved these (excluding my non-"fungus" friendly brother). I used real bacon bits & I skipped the oven step & microwaved them for 5 minutes...perfect! I suggest using a melon baller to remove the stem, it makes it so much easier. Thank you Krista, you're a "shroom" godess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I am a college student, and it's always hard to find snacks that are quick and satisfying. I prepared these mushrooms for Valentine's dinner, and my boyfriend LOVED them. He's not an onion fan though, so I omitted them completely and they were still good! I added garlic powder to the sauteing mushrooms for extra flavor (my kitchen never smelled so good!) I used regular white button mushrooms (because college students need to get the best deals they can!) and used a melon baller to scoop out the insides, which made it soooo easy. Like many others, I used extra mushrooms instead of the stems, but since I was short on time and they were on sale, I used pre-sliced mushrooms for the filling, which cut down on my chopping time. I would also recommend using a mini chopper to chop up the bacon. My boyfriend cleaned up the mushrooms and made me make more a few hours after dinner! This is definitely a keeper and I'm going to go make some for myself right now! =) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
great recipe - I added a small container of cream cheese to the mixture before stuffing the mushrooms. I also used real bacon bits which saved time. They were a hit and the first appetizer finished off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
These mushrooms were outstanding. I also chopped up mushrooms instead of the stems. Instead of using the butter I just added the onion and mushroom mixture to the bacon pan and I also added some fresh garlic and a little bit of parsley. Everyone loved it. Next time, I need to make a lot more. Couldn't keep them on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Whenever I have company, they go nuts over these, and my husband says they are the best stuffed mushrooms he's ever had. I am so sick of mushrooms stuffed with cream cheese! Sometimes I add a bit of freshly ground black pepper to the filling; it goes well with the other ingredients. You may want to watch out for the juice- I burn my tongue every time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Another favorite Appy.I make these year round.I cheated and used bacon bits last time.Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This recipe was so easy and everybody absolutely loved them. I can't wait to make them again. Make sure the bacon isn't too crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Most excellent tasting stuffed mushrooms! I used the button mushrooms, that is what I had on hand. My family just loved these at Thanksgiving and I will be taking them to our family Christmas dinner. Great recipe, none of the flavors "overtakes" the other, just blend together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States