Bacon and Cheddar Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I used baby portobello stuffing size mushrooms and made these as a side dish. I cooked the bacon in the oven then chopped it. I chopped the onion and mushrooms and added them to the bacon before I realized I hadn't cooked them. So, the bacon was cooked twice and it was fine. I added a tbs of bread crumbs and a tsp of parsley. These were rich and savory. Great for people who love bacon, mushrooms and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Easy to make and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These were delicious! The only things I did differently is, I added some fresh chopped baby spinach and sauteed that with the onion and chopped mushroom stem, and I also did about 1/2 cup cheddar and 1/2 cup smoke gouda. Still would have been delicious either way so I give it 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These were out of this world, and I'm not even a bacon kind of girl! I doubled(ish) the recipe to 21 pieces (I bought two packages and had a surplus of large caps) - used six slices of bacon, fried them up and drained them, then used a portion of the leftover bacon fat to fry up a small finely diced shallot (instead of onion). Used part stems, but mostly chopped up caps for the filling. After I mixed it all up in a bowl with the cheddar cheese, it seemed (to be honest) kind of heavy and unappetizing - so I took three slices of bread, chopped them up into small (1/4") cubes, threw them on a baking sheet and toasted them in the oven until mostly dried out, then threw them all in with the mix. Best idea ever!! It extends the quantity of filling, plus soaks up all the extra oils. Everyone who ate these loved them - I asked for opinions, and everyone was very shocked that the bread was an add-on on my part. I just imagine they would have been incredibly heavy without it. I'm definitely making these again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I love these mushrooms! The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly, and they were great. Now, every time I make them I do something a little different. Sometimes I add a little fresh chopped spinach or finely diced red bell pepper to the stuffing. Most times I brush the mushroom caps with a little melted butter too. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Excellent and easy recipe! I added some garlic and it had lots of flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Another favorite Appy.I make these year round.I cheated and used bacon bits last time.Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Easy and tasty! Served as an appetizer to our corn and crab chowder dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great Flavor, easy to make, and enjoyed by all! I ran out of the caps but then just layed a small amount on a mushroom and that worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Made as recipe states, wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States